PDA

View Full Version : Vector unit?




ThaBunny
Aug 2, 2008, 10:49 AM
Does the ARM chip inside the iphone have a vector unit, and if so, is there any documentation on it?

According to engadget, the chip inside the iphone is the ARM1176JZF, and according to ARM, there's a variant called the ARM1176JZF-S which includes a vector coprocessor. Which one is inside the iphone?

Given that there's no hardware transform and lighting on the GPU (it's just a rasteriser AFAIK), such a thing would be very useful.



firewood
Aug 2, 2008, 02:42 PM
I think the inTua/BeatMaker website claims that the CPU does have a vector unit, and they code for it.

ThaBunny
Aug 2, 2008, 07:43 PM
I think the inTua/BeatMaker website claims that the CPU does have a vector unit, and they code for it.

Don't suppose you have a link for that? I looked on their site and found a reference for some kind of cross-platform vector math library, but I couldn't find anything specifically about the iphone supporting vector operations natively.