Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

SeanEE89

macrumors regular
Original poster
Feb 15, 2008
VA, United States
I just ordered a Samsung 320GB 5400RPM drive for my MacBook to replace the original 160GB hard drive. I also got a free USB external enclosure for the Samsung drive when I purchased it. I was just wondering if there is a program that will allow me to just copy whats on my 160GB hard drive to my 320GB one exactly so I can just take the 320GB drive out of the enclosure and pop it into my MacBook and have it ready to go?

scott85213

macrumors member
May 19, 2007
You might be able to use Disk Utility to copy your HD to the new one through USB, I don't know if it would expand correctly though.

budafied

macrumors regular
Jun 22, 2008
any type of ghosting program should theoretically work, but its a little complicated.

onehotchili

macrumors newbie
Aug 3, 2008
as a complete MacBook newbie, i did this past weekend and used Carbon Copy Cloner. very easy to do and took me all of an hour.... of which 45 mins was simply copying data.

Cave Man

macrumors 604
Why would you recommend SuperDuper?

SD can also be used as a backup utility. But if you have Time Machine, there's not much of a need for it. Carbon Copy Cloner is what I always use. Very easy to do. Just make sure you clone to your new drive in the enclosure and test boot it from the enclosure as well. If it boots from the external, then just swap the drives out.

One other thing - when you initialize the new drive with Disk Utility, you will want to click on the drive name (and not the indented volume) and under the Partition tab, click on Options and choose GUID partition table, then initialize. If you don't do this, you will not be able to boot from the new drive on an Intel-based Mac.

SeanEE89

macrumors regular
Original poster
Feb 15, 2008
VA, United States