PDA

View Full Version : Cannot resize text box in Illustrator CS3




jeankim76
Aug 8, 2008, 11:13 AM
Hi,

How do I get the open squares of the 4 corners of the text box back? I can't resize the text box. I have no idea what setting I changed. Help!

http://farm4.static.flickr.com/3049/2743729067_161c380fe6.jpg?v=0


Thanks for your help!
Jean~



heehee
Aug 8, 2008, 11:18 AM
Make sure you have selected the "Selection Tool", not anything else. The black solid arrow at the very top or top left of the tools pallet.

jeankim76
Aug 8, 2008, 11:20 AM
I have "selection" tool selected. It's so odd. I've never had this problem before.

heehee
Aug 8, 2008, 11:22 AM
Try quitting illustrator and deleting your preferences. :confused:

jeankim76
Aug 8, 2008, 11:40 AM
i tried, quitting, restarting, deleting pref. can you think of anything else??
thanks!

SwiftLives
Aug 8, 2008, 12:47 PM
Plan A:
View -> Show Bounding Box
(As best as I can tell, this most likely will fix the problem)

Plan B:
Use the resize tool (near the rotate tool) on your tool palette. Be sure to hold down shiift to constrain the properties.

Good luck.

(And what is with everyone always assuming you need to restart and delete prefs? What is this...Windows? :D )

jeankim76
Aug 8, 2008, 01:36 PM
SwiftLives,
That worked! Thank you so much!!
Jean~

SwiftLives
Aug 8, 2008, 02:22 PM
SwiftLives,
That worked! Thank you so much!!
Jean~

I'm glad.

The irony is that I'm using Windows.

(not by choice.)

Shoesy
Aug 9, 2008, 04:37 PM
hey this happens to me all the time - all because I am used to using control b as the bold shortcut (on windows) - this turns the bounding box off in illustrator. Hope this helps someone!

jwize
Sep 4, 2008, 05:39 PM
Try control + shift + .
or control + shift + ,

to grow and shrink the text. This is on windows so mac users adjust accordingly.

Chappers
Sep 5, 2008, 02:37 AM
I'm glad.

The irony is that I'm using Windows.

(not by choice.)


well you made me smile this morning.