PDA

View Full Version : Upgrading RAM+processor on PowerBook G4?




opivy1218
Aug 13, 2008, 11:55 PM
owsg



masse
Aug 14, 2008, 12:13 AM
There's a guide to replacing ram on apple's website.

replacing the processor really isn't doable. What are the specs?

opivy1218
Aug 14, 2008, 12:21 AM
POWERBOOK G4 15"
867 MHZ
384 MB

Sure glad the RAM is doable at least.

TDM21
Aug 14, 2008, 12:32 AM
Sounds like you have a Titanium PowerBook. Those systems could use PC133 SDRAM. Unfortunately the price of SDRAM never really dropped like DDR and DDR2. Check out places like http://www.newegg.com for memory. I found some regular PC sticks that worked in my G4 PowerMac. Plus it was considerably cheaper then Mac specific RAM.

OutThere
Aug 14, 2008, 02:10 AM
Upgrading the processor is not really feasible on most laptops, unfortunately. Everything is built together on the motherboard. Your best bet would be to max out the RAM and perhaps put in a 7200rpm drive.

rdp5008
Aug 14, 2008, 10:30 PM
daystar made a processor upgrade for the PB G4. I think it has since been discontinued? At least it is possible and has been done...

I think the 12" maxed out at 1.67 ghz and they made a 2.0 ghz for the 15" and 17"

http://daystar-store.com/index.asp?PageAction=VIEWCATS&Category=745

noodle654
Aug 14, 2008, 10:42 PM
daystar made a processor upgrade for the PB G4. I think it has since been discontinued? At least it is possible and has been done...

I think the 12" maxed out at 1.67 ghz and they made a 2.0 ghz for the 15" and 17"

http://daystar-store.com/index.asp?PageAction=VIEWCATS&Category=745

Judging by the reviews, it sounds like upgrading the processor to anything over 1.67GHz is bad news.

CaptainChunk
Aug 14, 2008, 10:55 PM
I think the most RAM that machine will support is 1GB. The processor is a lost cause, unless you somehow find a screaming deal on a 1GHz DVI logic board. Used 1GHz boards cost more than you'd pay for that machine. And even then, you're only going to get marginally faster.

I'd say perhaps upgrade the RAM and install Tiger (10.4) on it. Leopard isn't pretty on slower G4s.

mycowisrusty
Jun 6, 2010, 11:02 PM
You can upgrade your powerbook g4 cpu, I upgraded my 1.33 to a 1.75 with a daystar cpu, already had 1.25 ram. Now the baby rockets and is rock solid stable, the upgrade is not fun, painstaking small and tight working room. Good pull-apart guide on you tube.

Hrududu
Jun 7, 2010, 12:35 AM
You can upgrade your powerbook g4 cpu, I upgraded my 1.33 to a 1.75 with a daystar cpu, already had 1.25 ram. Now the baby rockets and is rock solid stable, the upgrade is not fun, painstaking small and tight working room. Good pull-apart guide on you tube.
Where did you find the upgrade? They don't seem to exist anywhere anymore. I would love to get my 12" up to 1.75GHz as this is a computer I can see myself using for a long time to come.