PDA

View Full Version : Video editor salary???

jelloshotsrule
May 23, 2002, 10:59 AM
i have a chance at getting a video editing job around here at a small production place, worked out of the guy's basement. however, he has more work than he can handle, and he does local commercials and such. the highest of what i'd think to be local availability of such work.

so i ask you multimedia, editing, graphics folks who do it for a living... how much should a guy like me ask for? (he asked me how much i'd ask for pay and i didn't know)...

for my background... i'm an nyu student (going to senior year). lots of experience (in class and at home) with fcp and before that premiere. and some avid. also know after effects and that type of stuff. had an internship where i did some editing and also on set for commercial shoots..

i guess that's it. basically, what's fair to ask for for an hourly salary? i will negotiate of course... but what do i start at?

thanks all.... what would i do without macrumors?!?! ha

Mr. Anderson
May 23, 2002, 11:18 AM
Unfortunately, as a student you're not going to get near what a professional will, and add to your lack of experience, its going to be tough. I wouldn't push too hard of a deal, you're gaining experience, which you need more than the money at this point. Hopefully he's a fair individual and you'll get a decent hourly rate.

You should check online and see what the job calculators come up with.

jelloshotsrule
May 23, 2002, 11:22 AM
yeah, i don't expect a ton, but at this point i don't even know what's fair for a student... i don't want to get totally screwed, you know?

i know that at school they were offering 15/hour for a graphic designer at the career office or whatever.... that's the only thing even close that i've seen to compare it to..

i figured maybe teabgs could help if he's around. since he's doing video stuff...

where are these job calculators online? never used em....

Mr. Anderson
May 23, 2002, 11:30 AM