Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

wondering

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jul 1, 2008
Let me warn u guys first before i ask my question, im a total nooB, and i dont know the difference between the two, honestly :(

I recently bought a macbookpro, and now im planning to install vista so that i can play games on it as well. I already bought the vista home basic (its ok for games, isnt it?) OEM version, i havent tried installing yet, because i need 2 decide between the 64 bit or 32 bit so that the installation could rum smoothly..

so guys, please help? :(

Xavier

macrumors demi-god
Mar 23, 2006
Columbus
Vista Home Basic should run all the games that you would like.

I run Vista Ultimate only because I was able to get it free through my University, and it seems like overkill.

wondering

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jul 1, 2008
alryt, thats good to know.. so.. do u know the difference between 64 bit and 32 bit..? which one should i install? which one is more compatible with video games?

Consultant

macrumors G5
Jun 27, 2007
FYI, Vista home basic is the cripple (most features are disabled) of the cripple (know as vista).

But if you must install, 64bit vista is slightly better (compared to 32bit vista) on a Mac that supports it (santa rosa and higher). If you bought a brand new MBP or previous generation MBP (released last summer) then it's santa rosa.

You probably need more ram as the 2gb that comes with MBP, as vista is a memory and resource hog.

wondering

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jul 1, 2008
FYI, Vista home basic is the cripple (most features are disabled) of the cripple (know as vista).

But if you must install, 64bit vista is slightly better (compared to 32bit vista) on a Mac that supports it (santa rosa and higher). If you bought a brand new MBP or previous generation MBP (released last summer) then it's santa rosa.