PDA

View Full Version : shopping cart recommendations?

scamperwillow
Jan 9, 2004, 01:06 PM
I posted this on the buying tips forum before I realized there was a web developers forum. Hope I'm not breaking any rules...

I am looking for a shopping cart for a clients web page - one that is easy to use and has a variety of shipping options. We would probably connect through authorize.net. He only has three books to sell to start with but wants to add more items later. It could end up being fairly high traffic as he has a pre-built audience.

I'm pretty new to all this so any suggestions are much appreciated.
Thanks!
Marty (aka Martha)

D0ct0rteeth
Jan 9, 2004, 02:01 PM
miva merchant and monster commerce are both decent companys.

however I have built my own as I hate having other poeples logos on my products.

- Doc

arson
Jan 12, 2004, 03:40 PM
I recommend X-Cart - http://www.x-cart.com

scamperwillow
Jan 13, 2004, 06:18 PM
Thanks for the Rec. Do you find X-cart easy to use and does it have a variety of shipping options that the customer can choose from?
Thanks,
Marty

LoopHoles
Jan 13, 2004, 07:14 PM
have you considered paypal?

what programming language are you (planning on) using/which ones does the host support?

scamperwillow
Jan 13, 2004, 07:37 PM
Since I only do wizzywig programs (like GoLive) and have a really basic understanding of html, I need something simple with templates in place and html code that can be pasted into the site etc.

Paypal is too simplistic I think. He already has a merchant acct with Authorize.net - it's the shopping cart program that I need. There are so many out there, I'm trying to narrow it down with some personal recommendations.

arson
Jan 13, 2004, 07:42 PM
Originally posted by scamperwillow
Thanks for the Rec. Do you find X-cart easy to use and does it have a variety of shipping options that the customer can choose from?
Thanks,