Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

digitalpencil

macrumors 6502
Original poster
Jul 2, 2007
Manchester, UK
I've recently been trying to get into traditional illustration and am looking at getting a graphics tablet. I'm completely new to tablets but have an old Tevion MD41217 that i'm trying to get to grips with but am running into various problems.

Basically, it's a crap tablet.. it came with no mac drivers and so after searching all over the place, i've realised that it's one of those products that gets rebadged by everyone under the sun (Tevion, Medion, Trust, Aiptek) so i've managed to track down a set of Mac drivers that get it to work but are barely configurable and present a myriad of problems. Firstly, i run a dual screen setup (MBP>22") and so it sees the top left corner of the 22" and the bottom right of my MBP screen which cause all horizontal strokes to be twice as long as the vertical, other than that, the sensitivity seems to be really bad
and all my strokes come out really jagged.

As a result, i'm looking at buying a proper tablet and am hoping to get some recommendations.

Are wacoms the best and what should i be looking for as a beginner?
how important is size, shape (widescreen etc)?
what does 'tilt-sensitivity' get me?
what price ranges should i be looking at (beginner)?
are there any good, cheap wacom alternatives people can recommend?
any guides to graphics tablets in general? tutorials on how to approach?

Thanks.

LeviG

macrumors 65816
Nov 6, 2006
Norfolk, UK
I beg the mods can we please get a sticky done regarding tablets :(

The same response as always coming here. In order of questions.

1. Wacom are standard equipment for most designers for a reason - they really do make the best hardware.

2. Screen aspect - best to match up widescreen with widescreen etc, although they can be used with other aspects but you will lose some of the tablet/screen in doing so.