Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

dragonmantek

macrumors regular
Original poster
Oct 16, 2007
New York
Alright well, it isn't a total dilemma but I would like some advice on the situation.

As you know, college is coming around, and I need a laptop. With the student discount I can get a hundred dollars off, on top of that a free iPod touch, for college.

I have opted to get a non-apple laptop, but who wants that, I'd rather everything be easy to do, since I'm majoring in music and psychology.

I have an iPod touch already, so should I just wait until after the offer ends and forget the extra iPod touch, which I can sell/use, or just buy it now, or just get a regular cheap laptop, instead of forking over $999.

Any advice would be great.

Drumjim85

macrumors 68030
Oct 7, 2007
DFW, TX
go ahead and get the current MB, its still a great machine, and you can sell off the extra touch for a good bit of money.

christiemp

macrumors regular
Jul 27, 2008
Wisconsin
I'm having the same problem. College literally starts for me in a week, I'm going crazy.

I don't understand why apple would be nice enough to release new macbooks in MAY last year, but the back to school crowd doesn't get jack shi this year. I feel pushed aside, like they don't want my money.

hogfaninga

macrumors 65816
Aug 16, 2008
Chestnut Tree Cafe
I'm having the same problem. College literally starts for me in a week, I'm going crazy.

I don't understand why apple would be nice enough to release new macbooks in MAY last year, but the back to school crowd doesn't get jack shi this year. I feel pushed aside, like they don't want my money.

$100 off, free iPod touch, free printer, discounts on software and hardware for college students.

Sounds like Apple does want your money. I think it is an awesome promotion they are doing. What else do you want? Give it to you for free?

HerrRolf

macrumors newbie
Jun 25, 2008