PDA

View Full Version : new to me used imac g3 admin account




auto123
Aug 28, 2008, 12:33 AM
I bought this imac g3 about 4 months ago and thought that maybe it was time to put on some new apps. I go to do it and it says I can't because I'm not the admin :eek:
I have no install disks or anything. I looked through the files and found out it was from a high school before they retired it, must have been in the principles office as the 700mhz g3 is in great shape.

so how do I create a new account and make it the admin?
thanks for the help :)



Djmckee
Aug 28, 2008, 01:35 AM
so how do I create a new account and make it the admin?
thanks for the help :)
Just go to System Preferences, Accounts then click the plus button, assuming there is no password, or if there is an admin password then you will need the OS X CD to reset it, simply put it into the drive and hold the c key when starting, then go to the apple menu and there will be an option to reset password.
Hope this Helps :)

auto123
Aug 28, 2008, 02:01 AM
Thanks.

ya know I've been through the system preferences before and never noticed that:rolleyes:

it did the trick, Tyler (me) is now the admin. plus I made my brother an account because this will be a mostly school computer for the both of us