Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

jkieffer72

macrumors member
Original poster
Nov 4, 2003
I want to switch to MAC, but I'm not sure exactly what hardware I should be looking for.

I'm almost certainly going to go the used route. My needs are not that great, but I would like to be able to playback DVD, burn CD's and play some games. I don't need a speed demon.

I've played with a PB G3 - 333mhz (Lombard), but that lacks DVD playback (unless you get the add in PC CARD) and the graphics subsystem is fairly slow. (ie, won't run games or OpenGL screen saver full screen @ more than 2 fps) (The machine I tested only has 192mb of ram, would more RAM help ?)

What is the minimum notebook I should consider? I'm new to all the Mac terms, but I guess I should be looking for a notebook that supports Quartz EXTREME?

What should I avoid? I've read threads about certain powerbooks having logic board problems, even after 3 and 4 replacement logic boards! I certainly don't want one of those!!

Thanks for any advise!

John

jkieffer72

macrumors member
Original poster
Nov 4, 2003
You may be right, but i _have_ asked some specific HARDWARE questions, which is why I put the message here in the first place..

Thanks for not answering my questions and telling me how I should post, you really contributed!

Moderator; Is there a way I can move this post?

yoman

macrumors 6502a
Nov 11, 2003
In the Bowels of the Cosmos
Re: What Apple Laptop do I want?

Originally posted by jkieffer72
I want to switch to MAC, but I'm not sure exactly what hardware I should be looking for.

I'm almost certainly going to go the used route. My needs are not that great, but I would like to be able to playback DVD, burn CD's and play some games. I don't need a speed demon.