PDA

View Full Version : Lacie bring out a 1 terabyte external HD


MacBytes
Jan 14, 2004, 09:16 AM
Category: 3rd Party Hardware
Link: Lacie bring out a 1 terabyte external HD (http://www.macbytes.com/link.php?sid=20040114101651)

Posted on MacBytes.com (http://www.macbytes.com)

Approved by Mudbug

Mr. Anderson
Jan 14, 2004, 09:24 AM
OMG! That's just nuts! But so very cool if you do video or animation....

And its only $1200! You'd think it would be so much more. Very impressive. I'd love to have one just to say I have a TerraByte of storage on my desktop :D

D

Laslo Panaflex
Jan 14, 2004, 09:29 AM
I have a terrabyte of storage on my desktop in the form of a jbod that is four 250gig drives. This lacie drive is way smaller and comporable in price. Of course I have only 500gigs of storage space, I have the drives set up as a mirror for redundancy. Cool drive.

machinehien
Jan 14, 2004, 10:13 AM
wow, a terrabyte. Pretty scary if you think about it.

iJon
Jan 14, 2004, 11:40 AM
my plan for taking over the world is getting cheaper and cheaper by the day. anyways, that is pretty awesome, and even better its made by a quality company like lacie, still rather have a xserve raid, much cooler but much more xpensive.

iJon

Gymnut
Jan 14, 2004, 12:02 PM
One word: Wow. My 240GB is getting pretty cramped!

kettle
Jan 14, 2004, 12:03 PM
If I got one for my tangerine iMac, would I have to install OSX in the first 7Gigs of the drive or could I put it in any of my hundred odd partitions?:confused:

edesignuk
Jan 14, 2004, 12:45 PM
That's pretty amazing, and $1200 (652!!!) for 1 terabyte external drive is outstanding, imagine how much it will be down to a year from now :cool:

gerardrj
Jan 14, 2004, 01:21 PM
Originally posted by kettle
If I got one for my tangerine iMac, would I have to install OSX in the first 7Gigs of the drive or could I put it in any of my hundred odd partitions?:confused:

The 8GB boot partition only applies to drives on the built-in IDE bus of the affected machines. SCSI, FireWire, and PCI card connected IDE drives are not affected by the limitation.
If you connect this to your system and it supports booting to Firewire, then you can boot to a 1TB partition if you like, barring any other OS or firmware limiations.

kettle
Jan 14, 2004, 02:09 PM
no.. I mean what if I get a 1Terra and stick it inside my fictitious tangerino mobile? What would I do then? ay?:)

jasonbw
Jan 14, 2004, 03:50 PM
i'm assuming thats just 4 250 gig HDs mounted side by side in a case...sata or ide the cost for 4 drives like that is under $1000.

latergator116
Jan 14, 2004, 07:41 PM
Wow!! That is making my 20gb hd feel kinda small.:(

Nermal
Jan 14, 2004, 10:00 PM
I've never had the "joy" of a 20 gig. I went from an 8 to a 40, which was fine at the time (Windows PC). My first Mac was an iBook with a 30 gig drive - too small! My current Power Mac has an 80, which I thought I'd never fill up, but I've already used over 50 gigs...

irmongoose
Jan 15, 2004, 06:56 AM
This is a killer for video people. I thought my iMac's 60 would do good enough... boy was I wrong. I quickly got an external 120GB. I felt I was covered for at least 2 years. Again I failed in predicting the future... within 6 months I had to buy another external... this time a 160GB. And this is for a prosumer high-school student... imagine how fast the professionals' drives fill up! This extra terabyte is definitely a welcome choice.



irmongoose

Mr. Anderson
Jan 15, 2004, 09:07 AM
I might eventually get something like this - especially when i have a new machine with FireWire 800.....its truly amazing.

Only one thing I can see that will be a problem.....backups :D :p

D