PDA

View Full Version : WinExposť - Real or fake?


groovebuster
Jan 15, 2004, 09:26 AM
Look guys:

http://www.winexpose.com/

I thought something like that is not possible with the current Windows technology!?!? :eek:

But interesting that somebody tries to copy it right away! ;)

Or maybe they just want to rip off some people: for example... 3000 * 10$. That's a good profit for running a web-server for 10$ a month for a few weeks and just putting some pages with advertisement for a fake product! :cool:

groovebuster

edesignuk
Jan 15, 2004, 09:27 AM
http://upload.edesignuk.net/uploaded_data/smilies/smilie_repost.gif Exposť for Windows (http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?s=&threadid=54155&highlight=winexpose)

groovebuster
Jan 15, 2004, 09:36 AM
Sorry... I did a keyword search but didn't find anything...

jxyama
Jan 15, 2004, 10:35 AM
i'm pretty sure this was mentioned in the other thread, but don't waste your money on it...

apparently, what this app does is that it runs a background process that will take a snapshot of your windows and shinks them and present them in "expose" style in a maximized, borderless window over the desktop when triggered.

so it's basically a gimmick.

scem0
Jan 15, 2004, 11:25 PM
And why hasn't apple legal done anything about this?

Seems like a tiny bit of a copy of apple's own technology :rolleyes:.

scem0

crenz
Jan 18, 2004, 05:35 PM
Apple legal? They probably don't bother because the quality's nowhere near the original anyway...

isus
Jan 18, 2004, 05:48 PM
Originally posted by crenz
Apple legal? They probably don't bother because the quality's nowhere near the original anyway...
i have heard from a few places that even guys with some of the nicest x86 computers with fast cpu's and fast gpu's have problems seeing this move smoothly.

johny
Feb 5, 2004, 02:25 PM
Yes, WinExpose provides the same functionality as Apple's Expose only for the Windows based machine. Now they changed product name to WinPlosion and domain to www.winplosion.com (http://www.winplosion.com)

themadchemist
Feb 5, 2004, 02:47 PM
Originally posted by johny
Yes, WinExpose provides the same functionality as Apple's Expose only for the Windows based machine. Now they changed product name to WinPlosion and domain to www.winplosion.com (http://www.winplosion.com)

hmm...this post sounds like...an ad! :D

OutThere
Feb 5, 2004, 03:07 PM
That really does sound like an ad, especially with what people have been saying about WinExposť. Do you happen to be affiliated with the makers?

janey
Feb 5, 2004, 04:23 PM
Originally posted by johny
Yes, WinExpose provides the same functionality as Apple's Expose only for the Windows based machine. Now they changed product name to WinPlosion and domain to www.winplosion.com (http://www.winplosion.com)
haha. youre joking right? cuz that doesnt provide the same functionality, its what...4/5 fps...compared with the real thing...god WinPLOSION is ****.

its a poor imitation of yet another awesome apple invention.

themadchemist
Feb 5, 2004, 06:44 PM
He effectively bumped this thread--and we are complicit in its continued bumping.

topicolo
Feb 5, 2004, 10:03 PM
I actually have winexpose installed right now... Biggest, most useless piece of junk I ever got. ubergeek is right--the framerates are pathetic and it's obviously useless in XP. Apple has nothing to be afraid of