PDA

View Full Version : network question




jagatnibas
Sep 5, 2008, 04:27 AM
Hi All,
I was going through documents, I was wondering if there would be some way of running a server socket in the background [command line] always. I mean I need to have my UI apps connecting to this server and get some data. Is it possible ?

If it is not possible can anybody please direct me to an authentic link to convince my boss ?

regards
Jagat



robbieduncan
Sep 5, 2008, 04:33 AM
You application may not launch any other executable code or have any code run in the background. There are no exceptions or workarounds.

Taum
Sep 5, 2008, 05:39 AM
You mean a server running on the iPhone right ? No, this is not possible because you can't run anything in the background. You can check the video "Key Practices for iPhone application development" (around 4:30) where it is clearly stated that only one 3rd party app runs at any given point in time.

jagatnibas
Sep 5, 2008, 03:38 PM
Thanks Robbie and Taum,

Interesting that I am unable to open this videos even though i login with the username and password which has subscribed for a developer account

is any other special privilege required to play those files ?

regards
Jagat

Taum
Sep 6, 2008, 03:51 AM
No, the link should launch iTunes and download the video.