Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

macfreaker

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Aug 19, 2008
Belgium
Since i'm new in programming in xcode (cocoa), i have a question. I'm making a program that must start another program with parameters. The other program is vlc and must be started with parameters to stream video and audio from my sat receiver (dreambox) to my mac. Here is already a part of my code. Maybe someone can tell me how to add paramters.

Code:
#import "MAFoo.h"

@implementation MAFoo
- (IBAction)startknop:(id)sender {

NSWorkspace * ws = [NSWorkspace sharedWorkspace]; 
	[ws launchApplication:@"VLC"]; 
}

- (IBAction)stopvlcknop:(id)sender {

}

-(void)awakeFromNib
{
	//NSString *string = [dreamboxip stringValue];	

//	[dreamboxip setTextView:"192.168.0.100"];
	[dreamboxport setIntValue:8001];
}

@end

macfreaker

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Aug 19, 2008
Belgium
Don't use NSWorkspace. Use NSTask
I've change it but don't see how to add the parameters.Maybe you can help me. a example of how i did it in AS you can see here:
Code:
-- display dialog dreamboxip
			tell application "VLC"
				OpenURL "http://" & dreamboxip & ":" & dreamboxpoort & "/1:0:1:31E7:45C:35:C00000:0:0:0:"
				play
			end tell
The port and the ip i wil get from a textfield , but how to paste this in the arguments. And i've also a permission error.

Attachments

• Picture 4.png
    Picture 4.png
    100.7 KB · Views: 78

robbieduncan

Moderator emeritus
Jul 24, 2002
Harrogate
Read the documentation for NSTask. There are clearly marked methods for setting the arguments.

Also you, as a developer, should be aware that /Applications/VLC.app is a directory, not an executable.

If you are comfortable using AppleScript then why not use AppleScript Studio to make the app?

macfreaker

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Aug 19, 2008
Belgium