Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

pointandclick

macrumors regular
Original poster
Apr 29, 2008
Alrighty, I've been looking at a few hosts, but I'd like to get some input (hopefully from people who've actually used them) because it's pretty hard to tell what your actually getting sometimes.

I'm a Computer Science major and currently taking my first web class , Intro to HTML. I started learning HTML online this summer and pretty much had the basics down. I've read through the book already to get the CSS part so now I just need to practice.

Basically I want something to host a simple site, but be able to expand if I decide web dev is for me. Although I likely don't need a lot of storage or bandwidth, I would like to be able to throw up pictures/video/other random files to have them accessible.

A few I've considered:
aplus.net
The personal plan is good, 40gb transfer but only 500mb storage.
The business sounds too good to be true. 170gb storage and 2tb transfer for $10 a month. I imagine it's mostly marketing since they're shared servers and it's unlikely that those amounts would be used anyway.

Webhostgiant.com
25gb/1tb for $2.79/mo. I haven't heard much about them so I don't know if the low price is worth it.

Site5.com
Running and unlimited disk/bandwidth promo.

asmallorange.com
Apparently is popular here. Bandwidth is good, low storage.

dreamhost.com
Currently unlimited space/bandwidth as long as you have your account. The normal amounts are pretty high and supposedly increase by the week. Not sure how that works. $11/mo. Seems like a good deal if legit.