PDA

View Full Version : Reserving Ip Address & DHCP




Philgr
Sep 7, 2008, 05:38 AM
I have the following kit on my network and want to reserve the IP addresses for this kit so that are the same e.g

Router 192.168.5.1 (FIXED)
AEBS 192.168.5.2 (FIXED)
Imac (Wired) 192.168.5.3 (FIXED)
Imac (Wireless) 192.168.5.4 (FIXED)
MacBook (Wireless) 192.168.5.5 (FIXED)
MacBook (Wired) 192.168.5.6 (FIXED)
PS3 192.168.5.7 (FIXED)
Printer 192.168.5.8 (FIXED)
NAS Drive 192.168.5.9 (FIXED)

Then for any other kit joining my network for them to be assigned by DHCP server, so do i just set the DHCP sever range 192.168.5.10 to 100

Is this the correct way to do what i want, or am i creating problems ???

Thanks in advance



hmmfe
Sep 7, 2008, 07:53 AM
I have the following kit on my network and want to reserve the IP addresses for this kit so that are the same e.g

Router 192.168.5.1 (FIXED)
AEBS 192.168.5.2 (FIXED)
Imac (Wired) 192.168.5.3 (FIXED)
Imac (Wireless) 192.168.5.4 (FIXED)
MacBook (Wireless) 192.168.5.5 (FIXED)
MacBook (Wired) 192.168.5.6 (FIXED)
PS3 192.168.5.7 (FIXED)
Printer 192.168.5.8 (FIXED)
NAS Drive 192.168.5.9 (FIXED)

Then for any other kit joining my network for them to be assigned by DHCP server, so do i just set the DHCP sever range 192.168.5.10 to 100

Is this the correct way to do what i want, or am i creating problems ???

Thanks in advance

That would work just fine. I would probably suggest that you start the range at 192.168.5.20. If you add one more device it would seem easier to keep it in the same sequence as the others. Of course any IP will work and this is just about being tidy.

falcontook
Sep 8, 2008, 09:05 PM
Depending on your router, you can set up static IP addresses for specific devices and computers, and then leave the rest of your devices for the router to assign dynamic IP addresses