PDA

View Full Version : Is this website too good to be true?




JAWWC
Sep 10, 2008, 05:40 AM
I found www.looksmartpro.com and the macs seem to be insanely cheep. They only take western union money transfers though.

Think this is a scam?

Cheers



JG271
Sep 10, 2008, 05:50 AM
If it looks to good to be true, it probably is. Always a put-off when they ask for western union or similar money transfer methods.
If in doubt, best to go through a reliable source.

JAWWC
Sep 10, 2008, 05:59 AM
Yea it was the money transfer that was a put off. Think I'll end up ordering from apple with a friends student discount :)

G5power
Sep 10, 2008, 08:22 AM
The question is do you want to send a non-recoverable type of payment (Western Union) to a web site that was only registered at the end of June. Also that they only registered for the minimum possible time (one year).

If you don't mind then Ricardo J Alfaro & Tumba Muerto in Panama would be glad to take your money.

----------

whois looksmartpro.com
[Querying whois.internic.net]
[Redirected to whois.PublicDomainRegistry.com]
[Querying whois.PublicDomainRegistry.com]
[whois.PublicDomainRegistry.com]
Domain Name: LOOKSMARTPRO.COM

Registrant:
ITWEB Domain Protection
ITWEB Domain Protection (itweb@hushmail.com)
Edif. Neptuno, Local #7
Via Ricardo J Alfaro, Tumba Muerto
Panama Ciudad
Panama,-
PA
Tel. +005.72021515

Creation Date: 27-Jun-2008
Expiration Date: 27-Jun-2009

Domain servers in listed order:
ns2.ipnames.net
ns1.ipnames.net


Administrative Contact:
ITWEB Domain Protection
ITWEB Domain Protection (itweb@hushmail.com)
Edif. Neptuno, Local #7
Via Ricardo J Alfaro, Tumba Muerto
Panama Ciudad
Panama,-
PA
Tel. +005.72021515

Technical Contact:
ITWEB Domain Protection
ITWEB Domain Protection (itweb@hushmail.com)
Edif. Neptuno, Local #7
Via Ricardo J Alfaro, Tumba Muerto
Panama Ciudad
Panama,-
PA
Tel. +005.72021515

Billing Contact:
ITWEB Domain Protection
ITWEB Domain Protection (itweb@hushmail.com)
Edif. Neptuno, Local #7
Via Ricardo J Alfaro, Tumba Muerto
Panama Ciudad
Panama,-
PA
Tel. +005.72021515

Status:ACTIVE

g4cubed
Sep 10, 2008, 08:25 AM
The question is do you want to send a non-recoverable type of payment (Western Union) to a web site that was only registered at the end of June. Also that they only registered for the minimum possible time (one year).

If you don't mind then Ricardo J Alfaro & Tumba Muerto in Panama would be glad to take your money.
lmao

Tallest Skil
Sep 10, 2008, 08:26 AM
...western union...

It's a scam, man! (zib a dib a dip bop dib bop bop...)

$500 for a 17" MacBook Pro... what the heck do YOU think?

edesignuk
Sep 10, 2008, 08:30 AM
$500 for a 17" MacBook Pro... what the heck do YOU think?Get it bought! Clearly on to a winner...

I'm also selling a 5 pound note for a tenner, any takers?

teleromeo
Sep 10, 2008, 08:34 AM
Do they ship to Belgium ? :D

JAWWC
Sep 10, 2008, 09:26 AM
Come on people! I did think it was a scam lol. Just seeing if anyone had actually used them before to make sure!

eman
Sep 10, 2008, 09:26 AM
I never send any money Western Union for purchased items.

radionickhead
Sep 10, 2008, 10:38 AM
woaah why can't it be real?!?!

Tallest Skil
Sep 10, 2008, 10:41 AM
woaah why can't it be real?!?!

No one on this planet is stupid enough to really be selling a $2,700 computer for $500 in perfect condition. There are millions who are stupid enough to THINK that this is happening. It's a real scam, if that's what you mean.

Please prove me wrong. I'd like a 17" MacBook Pro to resell... :p

rdowns
Sep 10, 2008, 10:42 AM
woaah why can't it be real?!?!

And there you have your answer if these scams actually work.

sushi
Sep 10, 2008, 10:43 AM
If it looks to good to be true, it probably is.
Good advice A.

Always a put-off when they ask for western union or similar money transfer methods.
Good advice B.

If in doubt, best to go through a reliable source.
Good advice C.

I think that sums it up. :)

radionickhead
Sep 10, 2008, 10:59 AM
http://www.gainsaver.com - I assume the laptops go cheap because they're refurbished/2nd hand/ and older mac models?
I dont mind refurb/2nd hand, but I noticed the processor was intel core duo, and they're all with the radeons - these are discontinued models right?

BigHungry04
Sep 10, 2008, 11:11 AM
Search the forums for info on gainsaver. There was a thread about their legitimacy.

Apple Ink
Sep 10, 2008, 11:20 AM
Worries me about how wide and unreachable the web is! Its scam before eyes yet we cant do anything (except not buying)!

Seemingly the net has become one place where you can do anything and everything and get away with it in serenity as the phrase 'piece of cake'!

Consultant
Sep 10, 2008, 11:23 AM
I found <snip> and the macs seem to be insanely cheep. They only take western union money transfers though.

Think this is a scam?

Cheers


Yes, it is a scam, western union is like sending cash in the mail without a tracking number.

They might tell you something about tracking or requiring your confirmation before they can withdraw, but it's BS.

If you are thinking about this, then send the money to a charity. Same result to you and better for the world.

bobr1952
Sep 10, 2008, 11:42 AM
Funny how a company "located" in San Antonio TX would have their domain registered in Panama. :confused:

/dev/toaster
Sep 10, 2008, 11:43 AM
LookSmartPro.com is a pioneering retailer of consumer electronics located in San Antonio TX.
We have been at the forefront of the digital imaging revolution since it first exploded onto the scene in the 1990īs. As the industry evolves we keep adding new and exciting shopping categories to our product offerings.

Classic

m1stake
Sep 10, 2008, 11:50 AM
The money order alone is enough. The most insecure transaction ever, barring the possible "send straight cash to a random address and hope you get a MacBook Pro in 2 weeks".

Smart consumers don't pay by money order. Or shop at GameStop. :p

thegoldenmackid
Sep 10, 2008, 02:05 PM
LookSmartPro.com is a pioneering retailer of consumer electronics located in San Antonio TX.
We have been at the forefront of the digital imaging revolution since it first exploded onto the scene in the 1990īs. As the industry evolves we keep adding new and exciting shopping categories to our product offerings.
Classic

NO YOU ARE WRONG


Remember, we have three shipping warehouses in order to get your products to you FAST and CHEAP! We have a shipping location in in WORCESTER,MA, USA and the other is in Rome, Italy so we can get your order to you much quicker than anybody else.