PDA

View Full Version : Genius playlist on older iPods?




zen
Sep 10, 2008, 08:03 AM
Apologies if this has been covered but I can't find any info on it.

The Genius playlist is a feature of iTunes 8 and the new iPods (nano, touch and classic), but is it available on older iPods (eg, thanks to a software update via iTunes 8)?



sanford
Sep 10, 2008, 10:28 AM
Short answer: inbuilt and on-the-fly, no, probably not in future updates, but you can use iTunes 8, create a Genius playlist, make a new playlist, name it however you wish based on what you used as the basis for the Genius playlist, select all the songs in the Genius list, drag them to your new, empty playlist, sync that playlist with any iPod ever made.

ucfgrad93
Sep 10, 2008, 10:30 AM
Short answer: inbuilt and on-the-fly, no, probably not in future updates, but you can use iTunes 8, create a Genius playlist, make a new playlist, name it however you wish based on what you used as the basis for the Genius playlist, select all the songs in the Genius list, drag them to your new, empty playlist, sync that playlist with any iPod ever made.

This seems like the way to go. I don't see Apple putting this in future updates for older iPods.

mvreisjr
Sep 10, 2008, 11:00 AM
They should update the iPods, at least the classic line. If they don't do it, it'll be kind of a stupid manner to end the beggining of a cycle in technology.

Mr. Jobs, I am certain that you read this boards, so I leave the question: How about an update of the old iPods, at least the 5th gen and the classic line? It would be great, wouldn't it? We want microphone and Genius in the 80GB and 160 GB models!

jockmock
Sep 10, 2008, 11:58 AM
Well, I have an iPod Touch 1st generation, and since the update I can create Genius playlists on it. So yes to your question

leokennis
Sep 10, 2008, 03:55 PM
On my 80GB classic I can sync Genius playlists (no need to copy them to a regular playlist first), but on the classic they appear as old fashioned, 'static playlists'.

mvreisjr
Sep 10, 2008, 11:29 PM
Guys, it's confirmed:

http://crave.cnet.co.uk/digitalmusic/0,39029432,49298843,00.htm

Apple will release an update for us! :)

andrewcole836
Sep 11, 2008, 12:28 PM
Guys, it's confirmed:

http://crave.cnet.co.uk/digitalmusic/0,39029432,49298843,00.htm

Apple will release an update for us! :)

Looks like they were wrong, now they're saying no updates. =(

wlaugherty
Apr 3, 2009, 10:47 AM
It is not necessary to create a blank playlist and copy the Genius playlist songs to it to get a Genius playlist on your iPod Classic.

You can drag and drop Genius playlists in iTunes 8 to your iPod Classic icon [My iPod] or what ever yours is called. The Genius playlist will appear as a regular, non-Genius, playlist on your iPod list in iTunes 8. The next time you Sync, the new playlists will appear on your iPod.

The iPod Classic does not have the capability to create Genius playlists without the assistance of iTunes. This makes sense because the iPod Classic cannot get online to share and sample libraries of other iTunes/iPod users the way an iPod Touch or iPhone can.

Hope this helps.

I use my iPod Classic Gen 6 with my touchscreen stereo in my car. The Classic's large capacity makes it the perfect match with nearly zero latency when searching my iPod library using the Kenwood DX-512 interface. It is really slick. Until the iPhone or Touch offer storage memory close to the 80GBs I have now, I'll stick with the Classic.

Has anyone had issues with MP3's ripped from CDs using Microsoft Media Player? Random songs are cut short by varying amounts when played back on my iPod. The songs play in iTunes just fine with no glitches. The Apple store says it is an issue where Microsoft randomly places DRM on tracks, and that the fix is to re-rip the CDs using iTunes after erasing the CD from my library. What a pain in the you know what. I haven't re-ripped anything yet. Has anyone else tried this fix?