Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

ipodtoucher

macrumors 68000
Original poster
Sep 13, 2007
Cedar Park, TX
Hello all,
I am planning on attending The Art Institute of Washington DC and there is a supply kit we can purchase. Among tons of other things it includes a Canon Rebel XTI kit, and I was wondering how good the camera is. I have no experience with Canon equipment, I am strictly Nikon, but I would like to get a feel for the other side (dark side :D)

So I just want an opinion on the quality of the camera, I can opt out of getting it, but I would like to know thoughts on the matter.

Thanks!

Digital Skunk

macrumors G3
Dec 23, 2006
In my imagination

It will be great. But you can use your own Nikon gear. You don't have to go out and buy another brand.

Some colleges will put certain things down as "required" but it's not always the case. Like MS Word isn't a requirement, just being able to save/send/open .doc files... so any application that can do so is acceptable.

p.s. given the school and department... i.e. an IT school requiring Excel since they will be teaching Excel in certain courses.

ipodtoucher

macrumors 68000
Original poster
Sep 13, 2007
Cedar Park, TX
It will be great. But you can use your own Nikon gear. You don't have to go out and buy another brand.

Some colleges will put certain things down as "required" but it's not always the case. Like MS Word isn't a requirement, just being able to save/send/open .doc files... so any application that can do so is acceptable.

p.s. given the school and department... i.e. an IT school requiring Excel since they will be teaching Excel in certain courses.

Yeah I see what you are saying. They do not require Canon cameras, They have a million dollar supply room with Nikon, Canon, Myanmira, etc.