Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Which laptop?

• New Macbook

Votes: 15 50.0%
  • Penryn 2.4 Macbook Pro

Votes: 15 50.0%

• Total voters

mayanka89

macrumors regular
Original poster
Aug 10, 2008
Midwest
So the following is the comparison I made:

Macbook Pro $1540 with AppleCare
2.4 gHz processor with 800 mHz frontside bus
2GB DDR2 RAM
15.4" matte screen and 1440x900 resolution
nVidia 8600M GT with 256MB RAM (about 1.5 times better than 9400M), but prone to failures
Backlit keyboard, but not the separated keys
200GB hard drive
Firewire 400 and 800

New Macbook $1432 with AppleCare
2.0 gHz processor with 1066 mHz frontside bus
2GB DDR3 RAM
13.3" glossy screen and 1280x800 resoultion
nVidia 9400M with shared memory
No backlit keyboard, but seperated keys
160GB hard drive
New Multitouch trackpad with no button
No Firewire

I am a student in college and waited this long for the update. What option would be best, considering that the Penryn MBP has a failing graphics card. I want this laptop to last over 4 years, so how should I proceed?

Thanks.

mayanka89

macrumors regular
Original poster
Aug 10, 2008
Midwest
Oh and by the way, these prices are from my University Computer store. I seem to be leaning towards new Macbook due to styling, and MBP for specs. Still can't decide though...I need help.

Chase R

macrumors 65816
May 8, 2008
PDX
Get the new 2.4GHz MB with 4GB ram... That plus it's new design definitely wins against that MBP you have posted above.

disco2000

macrumors newbie
Oct 14, 2008
Get the MBP. Applecare will protect you from GPU failures.

I just ordered a refurb'd 2.4ghz 15.4" Macbook Pro, will Apple honor the 2 year warranty they placed on the GPU on a refurb model? Or do you think Apple ships all the refurbs with a new GPU?

mayanka89

macrumors regular
Original poster
Aug 10, 2008
Midwest