PDA

View Full Version : To the people concerned about the lack of a firewire port




bbplayer5
Oct 17, 2008, 09:22 AM
They make a Firewire to USB cable. If a video camera is your main concern, it shouldnt be.

If you really loved target disk mode, and thats the reason why you wont upgrade... Try an eternal USB drive. Yes you can boot from it with an intel boot partition, and back your stuff up that way. Sure it takes 1 more step, but this way you also have another backup of your information.

Format the drive to have a leopard boot drive, as well as a data drive. Make your leopard partition 20-30gb, and the rest for storage. Drag your files to the data part of the drive and then transfer it to your new computer.

If you liked target disk mode for running utilities on a corrupt drive, this is much the same. Install utilities on the intel boot partition and its just like running target mode, but you are booted from the drive.

This loss isnt a big deal.

USB just isnt as steady speed wise, which is a concern that wont go away.



hogfaninga
Oct 17, 2008, 09:26 AM
This solution has already been brought up in numerous times in other threads and will NOT work.

bbplayer5
Oct 17, 2008, 09:29 AM
I dont have time to seek every thread...

Why wont it work?

chrisiw
Oct 17, 2008, 09:30 AM
But its still a loss! when here in the Uk you can buy a travel laptop with Firewire 3 USB ports, backlit screen for 275.00, and for half the cost of the new Macbook there are higher spec laptops with Blueray, Apple need to get in the real world with their prices

roland.g
Oct 17, 2008, 09:31 AM
I ask the following question (asked it elsewhere too) as I do not know:

Is it possible to hook an external hard drive with both USB and Firewire to a MacBook, and hook the camcorder to the hard drive via Firewire and tell iMovie or Final Cut Express/Pro to use the external as the import destination, having the data go directly from the camcorder into the hard drive?

Just a thought, didn't know if that would work..

Also, for target disk mode, or at least for transferring, doesn't an ethernet cable between two Macs suffice for that. Yes target disk mode is great, but as long as you can network the two together at a speed greater than wireless, then data transfer should be solved. I understand some people use it for troubleshooting too, but for data transfer the ethernet should do the trick.

bbplayer5
Oct 17, 2008, 09:38 AM
A firmware update to allow USB to target mode would be the best... not sure its possible.

Point is, there are many other ways to do things, not just firewire.