PDA

View Full Version : possible to swap Hard Drives - G5 iMac to G5 Power Tower




nomadix
Oct 17, 2008, 10:51 PM
hallo all :

Is possible to just swap the 500g hard drive into the G5 Power Tower
instead of cloning the hard drive - Both PPC ?

Cheers in advance



Eidorian
Oct 17, 2008, 10:53 PM
Yes but only under one condition. The iMac's version of OS X must be newer then what originally shipped with the Power Mac G5.

nomadix
Oct 17, 2008, 11:00 PM
Hallo Eldorian:

I am running Tiger 10.4.11 on this G5 iMac
just reinstalled Tiger 10.4 into the G5 Power Tower- no updates yet - no plugged into Cable modem - so no register - will this work ?

cheers for the reply

Eidorian
Oct 17, 2008, 11:02 PM
The Quad Power Mac G5 2.5 GHz originally shipped with 10.4.2 and your iMac is running 10.4.11. You're just fine.

nomadix
Oct 17, 2008, 11:11 PM
hallo Eldorian:

Groovy / Gracias

buen fin de semana
cheers: