Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

EmptyPockets

macrumors regular
Original poster
Jan 15, 2008
I have no knowledge of programming at all (Short of a pseudocode class taken in college) but I am a quick learner and dedicated to a project I want to start.

Would this book be a good way to get grounded in objective C? Is there a better one?

I plan on making some applications and have at least one game idea. I have a graphic designer friend and want to learn the programming.

the book: http://search.barnesandnoble.com/Programming-in-Objective-C/Stephen-G-Kochan/e/9780672325861/?itm=1

Anyone know of a better book? Should I focus on books covering objective C or going straight into the SDK?

SuperFreq

macrumors newbie
Oct 15, 2008
I am not familiar with that book but I do suggest getting "Cocoa Programming for Mac 3rd edition" by Aaron Hillegass. This book is easy to read and got me on track to writing apps.

wizard

macrumors 68040
May 29, 2003
You are starting with a thin back ground so....

I have no knowledge of programming at all (Short of a pseudocode class taken in college) but I am a quick learner and dedicated to a project I want to start.
From my perspective that is a thin back ground from which to start iPhone programming. Frankly I'd find a good book or books that cover the basics of computer science and "C" from the ground up. Then start in with the Hillegass book. The problem is if you don't have a minimal amount of knowledge about programming and C specifically it is going to male understanding the SDK difficult.
Would this book be a good way to get grounded in objective C? Is there a better one?
I've not seen that book so obviously can't comment. You need to focus on texts that cover both the basics of C & Objective C and texts that cover next step.