Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Nicholas Mosher

macrumors member
Original poster
Nov 1, 2007
Massachusetts
I'm an engineering student, and this year I decided to take a couple courses in 3D modeling and animation. We're using Maxon Cinema 4D in class, and I'm blown away by it's capabilities. I really can't wait to start using this software for visualizations in my engineering courses.

Being a Macbook and iPhone owner, I've been eye-balling the Mac Pros for awhile now. Now that I'm using Cinema 4D, I decided to purchase a powerful home workstation to accommodate the ever increasing processing power I seem to require. Placed the order today...

Two 2.8GHz Quad-Core Intel Xeon Harpertown CPUs
2GB 800MHz DDR2 ECC Memory
500GB 7200-rpm SATA 3GB/s HDD
NVIDIA GeForce 8800 GT 512MB GPU
Two 16x SuperDrives
Airport Extreme Wireless Card
Apple Mighty Mouse & Keyboard
23" 1920x1200 Apple Cinema Display
3-yr Apple Care Warranty

I need to order a few more gigabytes of ECC RAM when my bank account recovers, hopefully jump from 2 to 8 via New Egg.

The one thing I've seem to hit a wall with is modeling/animating water. Have any of you artists used the software package Real Flow 4? I'd be interested in hearing your experiences and opinions. I'm interested in Environmental Engineering, so water is a focus of my studies. I'd like to accurately model/animate flows in channels, drains, and large pools that are being agitated by big paddle wheels on the surface, and/or diffusers (similar to a fish-tank bubbler).

motoxpress

macrumors 6502
Mar 8, 2006
I only have experience with Maya's water tools but, I have heard very good things with Realflow. It was used for the opening titles in Sweeny Todd for the blood flowing down...creepy :)

Congrats on a glorious monster. That MacPro will be your favorite asset.

-mx

Mac Kiwi

macrumors 6502a
Apr 29, 2003
New Zealand