Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

OwenHughes86

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Nov 4, 2008
Hi there,

I work as a broadcast cameraman in the UK - and for those of you who don't know broadcast camera viewfinders work in black and white. This can be problematic when lighting certain situations and you want to check colour balances etc. Usually a colour monitor would be used but these can be big heavy things that frankly I don't want to lug everywhere with me (the camera is heavy enough!).

I got to thinking that the iPod Touch's hi-resolution screen would be perfect as a lightweight solution to this. I was wondering if an app exists where-by I can connect my ipod to the camera using the available composite or component cables and view video-in (as opposed to the video-out that said cables are designed for).

I'm not even sure if that is logistically possible; but thought it's worth an ask. Especially if it means I can carry a preview monitor around in my pocket as opposed to the big back breaking things I currently use.

Thanks in advance.

Owen

M. Poirot

macrumors member
Sep 7, 2008
Hi there,

I work as a broadcast cameraman in the UK - and for those of you who don't know broadcast camera viewfinders work in black and white. This can be problematic when lighting certain situations and you want to check colour balances etc. Usually a colour monitor would be used but these can be big heavy things that frankly I don't want to lug everywhere with me (the camera is heavy enough!).

I got to thinking that the iPod Touch's hi-resolution screen would be perfect as a lightweight solution to this. I was wondering if an app exists where-by I can connect my ipod to the camera using the available composite or component cables and view video-in (as opposed to the video-out that said cables are designed for).