Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Vergißmeinnicht

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Nov 6, 2008
Deutschland (I wish)
Hi,

I've been on Mac Rumors FOREVER, but this is my first post. I'm basically new to Macs (for the most part, I used OS 8 or 9 in elementary school), and I've just ordered a new MacBook Pro! It hasn't come in yet, I wish it would ship faster than 5-7 business days! I'm wondering, if I'm using Parallels/VMWare Fusion, is that good for gaming (like with Fallout 3, for example ;)) or should I stick to Boot Camp? The problem is, I don't want to partition my HDD to waste space with Windows! If there isn't any lag and it's not too hard on the system (which I'm sure it could handle, it's a beast! :D), would it be ok to use Parallels/VMWare Fusion for graphically and hardware intensive games?

Edit: Oh and I forgot to say, I wasn't quite sure whether to post this in this forum or in the "Windows on a Mac" forum because it's kind of in the middle, sorry!

Eidorian

macrumors Penryn
Mar 23, 2005
Indianapolis
Fallout 3 on my virtual machine? Ouch, please just use Boot Camp.

Just decide the battle between Windows XP 32-bit and Vista 64-bit.

Vergißmeinnicht

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Nov 6, 2008
Deutschland (I wish)

Thanks a lot! (Wow that was a quick reply!)
Is 64-bit really that much better, or does it just waste more resources like Vista already is great for? I'm running Vista Ultimate 32-bit on this dumb PC, waiting for my Mac; and it's fairly quick but the OS is terrible, crashes all the time when I play CnC 3 Tiberium Wars! To think <i>this</i> was top-of-the line lol.. :p

Eidorian

macrumors Penryn
Mar 23, 2005
Indianapolis
Thanks a lot! (Wow that was a quick reply!)