Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

wheelhot

macrumors 68020
Original poster
Nov 23, 2007
Hi everyone,

Well I was reading through some camera reviews (boredom) and one of the user says, the reason why he chose Nikon over Canon is because of the Chromatic noise that is present in Canon camera. I went back and check some photo result taken by Nikon and Canon DSLRs and notice that he is right, at higher ISO, eventhough Nikon loses some detail compared to Canon, but there is almost no presence of chromatic noise.

So it makes me wonder, how significance is chromatic noise to a photo? and I'm quite sure this can be fixed, but how complicated is it (as in to fix it), and how bad will it affect the photo?

Sorry if this question sounds noobish but I'm new to the world of digital photography (last time I don't know all this terms, just know of this problems) so please enlighten me :)

Thanks.

OreoCookie

macrumors 68030
Apr 14, 2001
Sendai, Japan
It's about the `character of the noise': there isn't just `one noise' but several different types: luminance noise and chromatic noise. Luminance noise affects all three colors in the same way while chromatic noise is noise where different colors `flare up' -- which is more visible.

Nikon and Canon have taken different philosophies to noise reductions. Nikon usually suppresses chromatic noise (color noise) more strongly than Canon -- which is more pleasant to the eye, but reduces sharpness more. People tend to say that Nikon's noise looks more `film grain-like,' but it's also a matter of taste (who says film noise is better than digital noise? ;)).

Whether noise is significant, that's up to you. Most dslrs these days produce pictures with very low noise and even though you can measure differences, up to about ISO 400, there is no difference in practical terms.

Edge100

macrumors 68000
May 14, 2002
Where am I???