Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

the vj

macrumors 6502a
Original poster
Nov 23, 2006
No way... I have been working with Lightwave doing 3D animations for at least 2 years. I have been attached to my Quad G5 for 4 years not almost.

But today I installed Lightwave in my !&" mab book pro, is not the latest but the previous revision.

The renders takes literally half the time, the G5 has 4GB of ram while the 17" has 2GB.

Is amazing, I was waiting for January to get the new Mac Pros but now is obligatory. What a difference.

iamcheerful

macrumors 6502
Oct 3, 2008
that's a major difference you experiencing. indeed, you should've gotten an intel on hindsight.

the vj

macrumors 6502a
Original poster
Nov 23, 2006
The thing was that a few years ago I was working with my 12" G4 1.5 powerbooks and I needed to complete a project and I got a regular G5 machine for the rendering.

My surprice was that the G5 was in no way faster than the Powerbook, The G5 had 1GB of ram and the PB 1.5. I had to do a render farm with both in order to complete the After Effects render. Of course I returned the G5 to the Apple store for a refund. Reason: overrated.

A year later I got the quad G5 because I believe I could get something at least from 4 processors. And I have been happy since then.

With the intell processors I have been giving time for Apple to settle down the technology. I do not like to do small jumps but big ones.

A few moments ago I was thinking about putting my 17" MBP to work as a side machine. It was never that fast but it was ok, some renders were faster in the G5 still.

But the 17" has Leopard and I got the latest Light wave trial version that works fully featured for 30 days.

I left the G5 doing a render overnight and it took 9 hours. I wouke up and was rendering still, about 10 minutes left.