PDA

View Full Version : Need help choosing MIDI interface

xtwentyseven
Nov 8, 2008, 10:09 AM
My wife just bought me the PreSonus Fire Pod FP10 interface. While I think she did a great job picking a gift, it's a bit overkill for my needs. I currently have been using the M-Audio FireWire Solo, and it covers my needs for XLR input, stereo recording, it has phantom power, etc, but it has no MIDI. I'm currently running an Intel iMac, the most current one, second level (2 GB RAM, 2.66 GHz Core 2 Duo, etc. While I like FireWire, I'm concerned about the lack of FireWire support in the new MacBooks and what that means for the future of FireWire, since one day I may want a laptop. But anyway, I have simple needs. I'm an amateur recorder, currently using GarageBand '08, with possible plans to upgrade to Logic Express someday. I don't need MIDI for a lot. I'm very much a beginner on my digital piano, but I also want to use the MIDI interface to connect my Line 6 POD, for adding sounds to already recorded clean guitar tracks. One option I have considered is M-Audio's Fast Track Pro. Any advice?

churchrd
Nov 8, 2008, 12:20 PM