PDA

View Full Version : Looking for Live TV Solution




badmac78
Nov 10, 2008, 07:36 AM
Current setup

Mac mini + external hard drive (iTunes Server)
HDTV + ATV + receiver (home theatre)

I've gotten rid of cable and want some way of pushing live OTA TV over to my TV, but also record it. I purchased an HD HomeRun, but realized later that there was no (a/v out) and also there was no hardware encoder and one of my macs would have to do all the processing. I've looked at Sling, but most of their stuff is PC only (SlingCatcher) and is very expen$ive. Anyone have any cool solutions of watching Live TV through the ATV (while recording it) or a decent way to piple Live TV from my Mac without having to massive amounts of work around adjusting the resolution?



spice weasel
Nov 10, 2008, 08:51 AM
Since you have a Mac mini, you can connect it to your HDTV and then use something like the Elgato EyeTV to watch and record OTA television. It won't work with your ATV (meaning that you have to connect the EyeTV to your Mac mini. Recorded shows can be put in iTunes for viewing on your iPod or on your HDTV through the ATV if you like).

I don't have one so I can't comment on how well it works.

Chris Rogers
Nov 10, 2008, 05:07 PM
I don't have one so I can't comment on how well it works.

I have one and am returning it. For me I'm only able to get basic cable channels.

I understand that you can connect to your cable box for more channels but it doesn't help me out since my cable box and imac are in 2 different rooms.

Also, this doesn't do OTA.

More info:
http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=593331
http://www.elgato.com/elgato/na/mainmenu/products/hybrid/product1.en.html

What about Tivo??

badmac78
Nov 10, 2008, 05:42 PM
I am not a huge fan of Tivo, but I did see that Tivo was going to have Netflix streaming. I'd prefer not to pay a service fee for getting OTA signals.

I would attach mac to the TV, but I was hoping to keep it only as a server, but I'm leaving that open as an option.

Chris Rogers
Nov 10, 2008, 06:05 PM
Also, this doesn't do OTA.


I think I was wrong on this one. If so, I'm sure you'd have to buy something.

badmac78
Nov 11, 2008, 06:03 AM
I think I was wrong on this one. If so, I'm sure you'd have to buy something.


I could do an elgato 250 or a Hybrid + Turbo.264 (since the HD HomeRun isn't what I wanted). Then it's only piped to my computer and the resolution is screwy coming from the computer to the TV.

I've heard/seen folks with MythTV on their Apple TVs, but I can't find clear instructions on how that would work and what they are using to get the signal.