Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

miikkis

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Nov 10, 2008
Hello,

I have a tricky situation, at the moment I own rev a air (1,6 80gb) which has been fixed several times. Now the hard disk is failing again and after visiting apple store they told me that I get voucher worth of 1299£ or new rev b air.

Because I'm a student, I would get the 1,86/ssd model if I would put approx. 240£ cash on a table. In the other hand, I could take a new basic mbp and still have ~150£ voucher to purchase something extra from the store.

I'm happy with my current air, but of course I would wish that it would be a bit faster. I've had core, fan etc. problems so I came in conclusion that maybe this little thing isn't just for me. BUT, I love the size. When I lifted the new mb in the air at apple store, I just had to laugh... And the screen compared to air/mbp, no no no... :eek:
I carry my laptop with me quite a lot, so size/weight does matter to me.

So my question is (related to the topic) how hot/noisy the new rev b 1,86/ssd model gets when you use eyetv? 'Cause I think that is the heaviest program that I use (safari,microsoft office,itunes,mail). With this one the fan spins max and you can't use any other programs at the same time (killing core). At home I attach this little thing on 22 inch external screen and it's also quite effectively killing the pleasure of using my mac :D

If somebody has a chance to test it, I would be more than happy to hear the results. My local apple store doesn't have rev b models at stock so we couldn't do it there. One thing is sure, I saw the rev a 1,6/80 and 1,8/ssd boots and it's amazing how much faster the ssd is :cool: