PDA

View Full Version : the many faces of apple.com




ojibberish
Feb 10, 2004, 03:41 AM
the many faces of apple.com

http://www.apple.com
http://www.mammals.org
http://www.ikids.com
http://www.ischool.com
http://www.next.com
http://www.ripmixburn.com
http://www.macmate.com
http://www.iphone.org
http://www.ipod.com*
http://www.newton.com
http://www.imac.com
http://www.appleimac.com
http://www.eworld.com
http://www.itunes.com*
http://www.applemusic.com*
http://www.applecomputer.com
http://www.quicktime.com*
http://www.firewire.com*
http://www.clarisworks.com*
http://www.digitalhub.com
http://www.ichat.com*
http://www.xserve.com
http://www.powerbook.com*
http://www.finalcutpro.com*
http://www.dvdstudiopro.com
http://www.applescript.com*
http://www.mac.com*

That's right- they all work!
*doesn't redirect to the apple.com frontpage, but a product specific page on the apple site.

Anyone know the story on http://www.mammals.org?



Mav451
Feb 10, 2004, 03:57 AM
the mammals.org link scared the bejeezus outta me. I thought i was going to get something from "URL spoofing"...

but then i realized that I am using FireFox 0.8

Now the question is, why would mammals and Apple.com have anything to do with one another? Human = mammal i suppose, not much else i can think of.

HexMonkey
Feb 10, 2004, 04:00 AM
Originally posted by ojibberish
Anyone know the story on http://www.mammals.org?

I have no idea... But it's been there for a while.
One possible explanation is at:
http://www.crazyapplerumors.com/2002_08_11_archive.htm :D

Maybe iPhone.org was the source of all the Apple phone rumors. ;)

virividox
Feb 10, 2004, 04:05 AM
that crazy mac rumors srticle is hilarious

cb911
Feb 10, 2004, 04:08 AM
a few of those URLs make sense that Apple would own them & have them re-direct... but others are just weird...