PDA

View Full Version : Would an iBook Work?

LordOfTheMacs
Nov 22, 2008, 05:17 PM
Hey,
I am a fan of clamshells and can only get one within the $50.00 vicinity. :(
I aleready have an iMac G5 plus the other macs that my family and I use. So really, it would be a knock around laptop for travel and in the bed. I saw a website (www.G3macs.com) which appears to be a recycling site that sells clammies and powerbook G3's for 15 dollars. Where else BESIDES eBay could
I find a deal this good? Also, tips on clammie care, issues and opinions/ advice would be appreciated!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

BTW- This is my first post, for I am a newbie :D http://images.macrumors.com/vb/images/icons/icon14.gif

Blue Velvet
Nov 22, 2008, 05:23 PM
What about Craigslist New Jersey? (http://geo.craigslist.org/iso/us/nj)

LordOfTheMacs
Nov 22, 2008, 05:33 PM
What about Craigslist New Jersey? (http://geo.craigslist.org/iso/us/nj)

Iv'e looked-all those are out of my range. I wanted to see what our school district was doing with their's which are called obsolete,but the trade them in to apple for the ubiquitous white macbook carts:mad::apple:

But I appreciate your help so write back.

LordOfTheMacs
Nov 22, 2008, 07:42 PM
Does anyone have an experience with getting a mac from a thrift shop , junkyard or recycler? Also the website is Mac Recycler.com, notG3macs.http://images.macrumors.com/vb/images/smilies/wink.gif
More importantly, does anyone have an clammie? Do you like it?http://images.macrumors.com/vb/images/smilies/confused.gifhttp://images.macrumors.com/vb/images/smilies/blackapple.gif

LordOfTheMacs
Nov 23, 2008, 09:05 AM
Hello all,
I am looking for an clamshell iBook to use for internet, email and word processing in the bed or while traveling. :) A local recycler has these for cheap. They will probably have OS9 or 8. With one of the above operating systems, wiil it work for my basic needs?

See also- Clamshell iBook

mkrishnan
Nov 23, 2008, 09:08 AM
See also- Clamshell iBook