Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

meagain

macrumors 68030
Original poster
Nov 18, 2006
I bought an HF11 (identical to HF10). I have zero experience with video.
I managed to get my movie (a concert) into iMovie. Playback looks blurry compared to what's in the camera. Shot in Cinema mode, 24mbps, 1080i.

I'm not sure why playback in iMovie looks so bad. Or Quicktime for that matter. But....

Am I understanding correctly that in order to share this video, I either:
1. Plug the camera into an HDTV.
2. Burn to DVD in ONLY SD (or quality on the level of a VHS tape)
3. Buy software to burn it into a Blue-ray burner to make BR dvd's to play on players that no one I know has.
4. Dump to youtube in bad quality.

Do I have this right? I can't share my videos in any semblance of quality besides SD or horrible quality - Unless the cam is directly plugged into their TV?

NRose8989

macrumors 6502a
Feb 6, 2008
I bought an HF11 (identical to HF10). I have zero experience with video.
I managed to get my movie (a concert) into iMovie. Playback looks blurry compared to what's in the camera. Shot in Cinema mode, 24mbps, 1080i.

I'm not sure why playback in iMovie looks so bad. Or Quicktime for that matter. But....

1. Plug the camera into an HDTV.
2. Burn to DVD in ONLY SD (or quality on the level of a VHS tape)
3. Buy software to burn it into a Blue-ray burner to make BR dvd's to play on players that no one I know has.
4. Dump to youtube in bad quality.

Do I have this right? I can't share my videos in any semblance of quality besides SD or horrible quality - Unless the cam is directly plugged into their TV?

Vimeo.com allows HD uploads but its only 720p(1280x720) and you have to compress the crap out of your video so you meet their bandwidth requirements.