PDA

View Full Version : iBook A1007 info & advice needed




MacJester
Dec 2, 2008, 11:15 AM
Hi, I'm a Mac newbie so be gentle . . . . :)

I have been given a faulty iBook and I want to discover everything I can about it before I invest in trying to get it going again. I has been given to me with a power lead and . . . that's it!

On the back it says it's an a1007 (c)2002 and not much else. It has a CD on the rear right and a bunch of connector ports on the left. So first question: who can tell me what model/spec it is (G4?)

The screen shows no display at all but when power is applied the connector illuminates and when the power button is pressed I get the startup "duuummm" sound. The caps-lock light works and there are click/alarm sounds when the function keys are used so something is going on there I think! So second question - does it sound fixable & is it worth fixing?

:confused:

To summerise I'd like someone to tell me as much info as possible and tips on fixing it (if viable)

:D :apple:



silverblack
Dec 2, 2008, 11:38 AM
You can locate the Factory Configuration Label by following instruction here.
http://www.galaxyhp.com/iBook/notes_ib.html

This website also offer free diagnostics, you might want to talk them.

MacJester
Dec 2, 2008, 11:46 AM
You can locate the Factory Configuration Label by following instruction here.
http://www.galaxyhp.com/iBook/notes_ib.html

This website also offer free diagnostics, you might want to talk them.

Yeah, I already found that site ta, but as the screen isn't working I can't identify anything further and it doesn't have the 'Factory Configuration Label' they mention (if only!) :confused:

Pixellated
Dec 2, 2008, 11:49 AM
Yeah, I already found that site ta, but as the screen isn't working I can't identify anything further and it doesn't have the 'Factory Configuration Label' they mention (if only!) :confused:
Do you have access to an external display? Is there a chime at bootup?

silverblack
Dec 2, 2008, 12:06 PM
Ok, then try this one (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/IBook).

2002 model should be a G3, with speed depending on the casing. Given it's only a G3 ibook, I wouldn't spend $ to get it fixed. It wouldn't be good for anything beyond web surfing and word processing, which you can do on any cheap used PCs.

MacJester
Dec 2, 2008, 12:17 PM
Ok, then try this one (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/IBook).

2002 model should be a G3, with speed depending on the casing. Given it's only a G3 ibook, I wouldn't spend $ to get it fixed. It wouldn't be good for anything beyond web surfing and word processing, which you can do on any cheap used PCs.



Been there too :D

The eldest boy has a Laptop PC that is only marginally higher spec than this G3 and he likes the idea of using a Mac as it suits a lot of the work he does in his 6th form for his A levels studies. Plus it looks cool compared to his old Dell :cool:

If it's likely to be a 20-30 replacement screen that solves the issue I'm interested as web surfing & word processing is his thing. He does use MS Word, Publisher and PowerPoint - would these be avaialble on a G3 in some way?

silverblack
Dec 2, 2008, 12:29 PM
Did you try this (http://support.apple.com/kb/HT1573) one then - resetting the parameter RAM and PMU?

MacJester
Dec 2, 2008, 04:04 PM
Did you try this (http://support.apple.com/kb/HT1573) one then - resetting the parameter RAM and PMU?

~Ahh, not seen that one before . . . But none of those key presses or tips helped. I'm guessing the screen is fooked. I took the back panel off and had a prod around but I couldn't see any obvious damaged or loose wires :(

Gonna take the back of the iBook off tomorrow to have a look there.

OrangeSVTguy
Dec 2, 2008, 04:12 PM
To see the specs. Take a tiny flat head screw driver and turn the center lock on the keyboard 180* then slide the other 2 locks to lift up the keyboard. The specs are right there under the keyboard. You can also see if you got an airport too. If it were an iBook G4, it would state that on the LCD bezel where it says "iBook".

To get it to display video, pinch the left side palm rest right under the left option key and/or push hard underneath the iBook in the same area. These are notorious with the graphics chip loosing from the logic board. Using a Mini-VGA to VGA adapter with an external monitor will still not work and you will not get any video. Unless there is a problem with the LCD or converter/cables.

MacJester
Dec 2, 2008, 05:23 PM
First of all a HUGE thank you to OrangeSVTguy - you're a top chap! http://i169.photobucket.com/albums/u217/NismoJester/Gifs%20n%20Images/emot-tip-wink.gif - And to the others who've helped me get this far http://i169.photobucket.com/albums/u217/NismoJester/Gifs%20n%20Images/a_goodjob.gif

To see the specs. Take a tiny flat head screw driver and turn the center lock on the keyboard 180* then slide the other 2 locks to lift up the keyboard. The specs are right there under the keyboard. You can also see if you got an airport too. If it were an iBook G4, it would state that on the LCD bezel where it says "iBook".

WOW :eek: That is sooo cool! The KB came straight off :- shows it is a 900mhx 256mb/40GB and has AirPort too!

To get it to display video, pinch the left side palm rest right under the left option key and/or push hard underneath the iBook in the same area. These are notorious with the graphics chip loosing from the logic board. Using a Mini-VGA to VGA adapter with an external monitor will still not work and you will not get any video. Unless there is a problem with the LCD or converter/cables.



Wooohoooo! It worked! http://i169.photobucket.com/albums/u217/NismoJester/Gifs%20n%20Images/waverat.gif With a little gentle Persuasion I got the chip re-seated and the iBook came to life! How happy am I!?!? :D

So now I have a quick look around the system and I see it is running Mac OS X v10.4, it is a Powerbook4,3 with a PowerPC 750 (2.3) CPU, with 640mb RAM (128+512) with a boot ROM V:4.6.4f1!

That sounds quite good to me - any thoughts from you guys re this setup?

The previous owner has left a bunch of links to apps and web pages on the desktop and I'm guessing there is a load of personal stuff and garbage lying around. I would usually wipe the HD and re-install from scratch if this were a WinTel Laptop - is that advisable? Or would it be better to leave this OS as-is?

Is any of the above an issue i.e. should I update the OS or boot ROM versions?

Questions Questions but now I'm off to explore the marvelous world of Mac's . . . . http://i169.photobucket.com/albums/u217/NismoJester/Gifs%20n%20Images/TFR2493.gif


PS OrangeSVTguy - Nice Ford . . . and your other 'hottie' too

http://i169.photobucket.com/albums/u217/NismoJester/Gifs%20n%20Images/Morf.gif

OrangeSVTguy
Dec 2, 2008, 06:38 PM
First of all a HUGE thank you to OrangeSVTguy - you're a top chap! http://i169.photobucket.com/albums/u217/NismoJester/Gifs%20n%20Images/emot-tip-wink.gif - And to the others who've helped me get this far http://i169.photobucket.com/albums/u217/NismoJester/Gifs%20n%20Images/a_goodjob.gif



WOW :eek: That is sooo cool! The KB came straight off :- shows it is a 900mhx 256mb/40GB and has AirPort too!





Wooohoooo! It worked! http://i169.photobucket.com/albums/u217/NismoJester/Gifs%20n%20Images/waverat.gif With a little gentle Persuasion I got the chip re-seated and the iBook came to life! How happy am I!?!? :D

So now I have a quick look around the system and I see it is running Mac OS X v10.4, it is a Powerbook4,3 with a PowerPC 750 (2.3) CPU, with 640mb RAM (128+512) with a boot ROM V:4.6.4f1!

That sounds quite good to me - any thoughts from you guys re this setup?

The previous owner has left a bunch of links to apps and web pages on the desktop and I'm guessing there is a load of personal stuff and garbage lying around. I would usually wipe the HD and re-install from scratch if this were a WinTel Laptop - is that advisable? Or would it be better to leave this OS as-is?

Is any of the above an issue i.e. should I update the OS or boot ROM versions?

Questions Questions but now I'm off to explore the marvelous world of Mac's . . . . http://i169.photobucket.com/albums/u217/NismoJester/Gifs%20n%20Images/TFR2493.gif


PS OrangeSVTguy - Nice Ford . . . and your other 'hottie' too

http://i169.photobucket.com/albums/u217/NismoJester/Gifs%20n%20Images/Morf.gif

Yeah you got about the nicest G3 iBook there is. It's pretty much maxed. It still probably has a stock 40gb? hard drive, unless that was upgraded too. If you can find a retail version of Tiger, I'd reinstall all the software. If it were your buddies iBook, maybe you should ask him if there's anything important on there first?

You can always create your own account, be sure to make it Admin and then delete the old user.

Just remember though, that is only a temporary "fix" and it will eventually fail all together. So enjoy it while it lasts. I put a shim in mine and it lasted me about 6 months before it died completely.

Check out the links in my signature too ;)

MacJester
Dec 2, 2008, 07:04 PM
Yeah you got about the nicest G3 iBook there is. It's pretty much maxed. It still probably has a stock 40gb? hard drive, unless that was upgraded too.

Cool - good to know! Yep it's still got the 40GB HDD

If you can find a retail version of Tiger, I'd reinstall all the software.

Actually I just downloaded a full OS update to get it up to 10.4.11 Tiger :D

If it were your buddies iBook, maybe you should ask him if there's anything important on there first?

Nah, it was a client's who used it as part payment for me rebuilding & upgrading a Dell Laptop


Just remember though, that is only a temporary "fix" and it will eventually fail all together. So enjoy it while it lasts. I put a shim in mine and it lasted me about 6 months before it died completely.

:( not good news, isn't it possible to strip it down and make a better job of re-fitting the chip? By a 'shim' I guess you mean a spacer to put pressure on the GPU? Isn't there a better solution that would maybe not cause it to give up the ghost?

Check out the links in my signature too ;)

Have done - what with the motor I guess you're a Tango man through and through!;)