PDA

View Full Version : G4 or G5? Dual? advice desired

coatss
Feb 18, 2004, 04:01 PM
The frugal beast in me wants to get a G4 with all the bells and whistles possible for the best clearance price.

The other me, the one that drooled when we got the 2.0 DP G5 w/ 20" Cinema at work... that one wants the best money can buy.

I'm a graphic designer, I'll be running Adobe Creative Suite (InDesign, Photoshop, Illustrator) and some stuff like Office, etc. I want to replace my home PC with a Mac so I can do some work at home and maybe some freelance.

I was almost ready to go for a 17" PowerBook because it would be portable... but then... oooooh it is SO hard to decide!

So I shall bow down to those with higher knowledge and follow the best advice given for my dilemma ... or at least consider it. :cool:

Sun Baked
Feb 18, 2004, 04:11 PM
You can still be frugal and get a DP G5 1.8 and see what you can use off the PC in the Mac (Monitor, HD, Optical, etc).

As with most people straddling the fence when faced with two machines with major architecture changes (PPC from 68k, PCI bus from Nubus, AGP from PCI, and now IBMs ElasticBus from SlowMotionMotorolaBus) -- the newest architecture is rarely the wrong choice.

A year or two down the road, the old architecture really starts to seem limiting as the 3rd party crowd jumps on board -- and Apple starts dropping support for the old architecture.

In the short term the old computer is a great deal.

But it all depends on how long you see a machine sitting on the desk -- Motorola's the miserly speed bumps didn't make the old machines look too bad.

But within 6 months (maybe) IBMs 3.0GHz DP G5 will make the 1.25GHz DP G4 look a little long in the tooth.

baby duck monge
Feb 18, 2004, 04:45 PM
how long can you wait to have a new machine? if you can hold out until more of the software you use is optimized for the g5, you will be doing yourself a favor.