PDA

View Full Version : 2 Questions: Can I remove HDD -- what's in the Rev A box?




Doju
Dec 8, 2008, 11:51 AM
Can I remove the 80GB HDD and put in like a 40GB SSD?

What in the Rev A box? What adapters, etc.?



glitch44
Dec 8, 2008, 12:18 PM
Can I remove the 80GB HDD and put in like a 40GB SSD?

What in the Rev A box? What adapters, etc.?

you just posted 5 threads in the last minute, but did you do a search first? a lot of your questions are already answered in other threads.

if you can find a 40GB SSD that's 1.8" and 5mm thick and uses a PATA ZIF connector instead of SATA, then you can replace it. i don't know if such a thing exists.

Doju
Dec 8, 2008, 12:26 PM
In fact, I searched every page on MacRumors, MacLovers, MacLovin', and many other popular sites and found myself answerless.

glitch44
Dec 8, 2008, 12:40 PM
In fact, I searched every page on MacRumors, MacLovers, MacLovin', and many other popular sites and found myself answerless.



Rev. A Hard Drive upgrade to SSD? (http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=612940&highlight=upgrade)

HD Upgrade on Rev A? (http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=609522&highlight=upgrade)

h1d
Dec 8, 2008, 08:22 PM
Nice useful links. :cool:

nintendude
Dec 8, 2008, 08:56 PM
The box has micro-dvi to vga and dvi adaptors

greenday123
Dec 8, 2008, 09:40 PM
Perhaps you could've looked up an unboxing video of the Rev A Macbook air on youtube? Theres at least a dozen of them.

fteoath64
Dec 9, 2008, 10:18 AM
Well, us Gen1 users with HDD are very limited by what is out there.

The Mtron 32G SSD had speed but you will have to carry a USD 2.5 inch drive everywhere for your data. music . etc. To go 64GB is a pricey option.

OK, a compromise might be using the Mtron 32g, then carry two Cosair Voyager 32G USD sticks. At least this combo has not moving parts on your data.

I will hold off until the SSD in Gen 2 goes to 256GB in size (and some more speed please ... maybe by Q3-09 ?).:rolleyes:

h1d
Dec 9, 2008, 07:06 PM
Until SSD price drop further, upgrading for rev A SSD is still a better option right now (unless that's not an option)