Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

BFedrec

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Feb 20, 2004
Lawrenceville, GA
OK... first posting here, been lurking for a bit. I'm guessin this has been asked before, but I couldn't find it in the last months worth of posts.

I've been saving up my pennies to get an iBook for the last few months. I'm a Unix Admin who runs Linux on one machine at home, Windows 2K on one, and have a long term loan of a G4/450 Powermac running OS X on one machine. I got HOOKED on OS X and iMovie, and am in need of a laptop to take with me and do web work and writing. Those are my MAIN needed functions for the laptop, both of which won't require too much machine to do, BUT I do want to run iMovie and do some editing. My budget is fairly tight, and while I WANT to get a G5 system for movie editing at home, I realize that the G6 will probably be out by the time I've got enough money saved up for it.... SO on to the POINT of the post.

I've got just about enough saved up to get a 12" G4/800 iBook, but now I'm being tempted by good deals on G3/900 iBooks. Micro-Center is running an ad for a G3/900 12" with combo drive for $799 or $699 if you get their branded Visa card... I'd be getting the G4 with an educational discount (homeschooling family that we are), and I'm trying to determine if it's worth the extra $300 to get a G4 iBook vs a G3.

The latest issue of MacWorld has them compared and while the G4 does better than the G3, it's not by a huge margin, and the $300 difference could go towards that firewire DVD Burner I'd like to get. The biggest difference in performance is in iMovie, and iTunes, and of course I'd have to spend a few extra bucks for iLife 04. So... anybody have experience with both the G3/900 12" and the G4/800 12" iBooks and have any advice on how much more the G4 is worth? Pardon my long-windedness

CharlesP

BFedrec

macrumors newbie
Original poster