Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

1990gsp

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Sep 24, 2008
I'm new to the ipod thing... Where's the best place for music downloads? I know itunes, but where else. Is there a unlimited download pay by the month place? I want something safe for my cpu too...

Thanks in advance for any help.

Bob Chadwick

macrumors member
Oct 1, 2008
I like Amazon. 256 bit rate with no DRM. The music is mine and I'm not locked into anything. Pricing is basically the same as ITunes.

Texas04

macrumors 6502a
Jul 2, 2005
Texas
I vote for Amazon.. but I believe Best Buy and WalMart have stores as well.

Be careful where you download things. Make sure that they are full MP3's or files that are not locked in with DRM for a monthly price. Unless the DRM is from iTunes, they will not play on your iPod.

-Dark Angel-

macrumors 6502
Nov 13, 2007
Amazon gets my vote. It works great with iTunes. Just download a song and it will be added to your iTunes library making it ready for your iPod.

yawnyj

macrumors member
Jan 24, 2008
Gig Harbor , Wa
This is in response to zune man. You do realize that borrowing cds from the library and putting them on your itunes is the same thing as stealing don't you?

thomahawk

macrumors 6502a
Sep 3, 2008
Osaka, Japan
i enjoy itunes if not then i go towards some japanese site that sells both american and japanese music. but i dunno if you want to go there its all in japanese lol but its pretty decent prices for music. almost the same as itunes

ZuneMan?

macrumors regular
Nov 21, 2008
Apple Store
This is in response to zune man. You do realize that borrowing cds from the library and putting them on your itunes is the same thing as stealing don't you?

I find it easier than iRyann's way since I have a really slow connection. I'm sure I'm not the only one doing it. :apple:

I DO NOT however sell the music. This would be wrong.