PDA

View Full Version : 10.5.6 reduces the CPU at idle




bbotte
Dec 15, 2008, 10:45 PM
My iStat has a lot less color in the graphs when the PC is at idle. Anyone else notice this?



errol
Dec 15, 2008, 10:54 PM
My fan is running a lot more, but temps are down. Currently just have safari up and adium, and fan is at 6000 rpm, temps at 51

bbotte
Dec 15, 2008, 11:00 PM
2505 rpm and 49 degrees C. for me, but I am using it on a table, I notice when it's on my lap and the airflow is not as good it uses more fan. I am only running Safari and Cyberduck.

goshya
Dec 15, 2008, 11:07 PM
Hi.

My fans also run a lot more after the update. Battery is fully charged.

Rev. B, 1,6

Can someone please confirm that?

Cheers

pierce200
Dec 16, 2008, 03:26 AM
10.5.6 and Safari not groovin'. Fans, spinning wheel. Unhappy computer.

NC MacGuy
Dec 16, 2008, 03:37 AM
Funny, I can't even tell I did a major update. All is, as was.

Maybe my idle proc. usage goes to zero now I look at it. I don't think it ever went all the way to zero pre-5.6. Should help with battery times.

ZhaoYun
Dec 16, 2008, 07:23 AM
Does this means the kernel_task thing won't take up 300% of my CPU time anymore ?

I don't mind a loud fan, at least the 2000 dollars machines is still working. But once the kernel_task hits 300%, the machine is totally useless.

h1d
Dec 16, 2008, 08:15 AM
CoolBook? After all $10 is not bad after $2k (Yes, it's bad for how Apple won't fix this forever but what the hell, if it can be fixed I would.)

NC MacGuy
Dec 16, 2008, 08:34 AM
Does this means the kernel_task thing won't take up 300% of my CPU time anymore ?

I don't mind a loud fan, at least the 2000 dollars machines is still working. But once the kernel_task hits 300%, the machine is totally useless.

I cannot see why you haven't taken your machine to Apple yet. You should not be getting panics that rail the processors without something being open somewhere.

gcmexico
Dec 16, 2008, 11:38 PM
after up to 10.5.6 fans constantly at 6200, temp at 51...anyone know how to fix this..never had this problem before