Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

mnstr_trd_sd

macrumors regular
Original poster
Feb 24, 2004
san diego, ca.
Hello everyone this is my first post here and I appreciate any help I can get.

I currently am using 933Mhz 2002 Quicksilver 133bus, 1.5 Gig Ram and 9800 Pro. I am using this for Graphic Design, Video Editing and 3d Animation.

I am torn between buying a the Dual 1.4 from Powerlogix or the Giga Designs Dual 1.25 that can be overclocked to1.33 or 1.46.

Powerlogix $1099
http://www.powerlogix.com/products/pfdualg4133/index.html

Giga Design $749
http://eshop.macsales.com/Catalog_Item.cfm?ID=6393&Item=GIGGCD1250S4Q13

Which one is the better deal?

Which has better quality?

Is it safe to overclock g4 cpus?

What is the highest this processor should be overclocked within a safe margin?

I don't have much experience with upgrading processors so any help would be greatly appreciated. I am a student so any info that would lead me to the best investment with my limited funds would help.

Please look over both links and email me at soulbyte@mac.com with your opinions and label it Re: Processors.

Sorry for such a long post and thank you again for all your help.

Roger
Soulbyte@mac.com

dudewheresmymac

macrumors member
Jan 28, 2004
id say that you should svae up and get more powerful computer because it your line of work you need alll the powerm that you can get....

but if you cant or dont want to wait go with the giga designs cheaper and can be clocked higher

Dont Hurt Me

macrumors 603
Dec 21, 2002
Yahooville S.C.