Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

darrellishere

macrumors 6502
Original poster
Jul 13, 2007
What have I done? My D70 is far simpler to use, pick up and shoot!

What bugging me the most, is that I shoot RAW Images and I usually rely heavily on the AUTO Mode!
I always turn off the flash too! Sounds simple enough, but this camera won't let me do either ! RRRRRRRRRR

That is, take raw images in any of the preset modes or over ride the flash in those modes. (The jpeg modes! LOL)

I love photography, but Im not a manual type of guy, I hate the fact I have to preview everything in the manual mode to make sure Ive got the right exposure! Im a street photographer and finding this camera pants and uncomfortable to use!

PS the kit lens is awful too, talk about barrel distortion! LOL !

I feel like my stomach has been pulled out , do Canon think they have gotten the balance right?

This is a camera with a split personality, and it dosn't do either well .

Now I'm dreaming about a D90 and wondering how the hell I can get rid of this lo:)

Lovesong

macrumors 65816
LOL... LOL... I swear the next person that writes LOL after something they've said is getting a free trip to the ER.

OK- about your issues with the Canon 450D:

The camera has 2 Auto modes (as well as 2 semi-auto modes, which I would use if I were you). The green square is a full-auto, P&S, make me some JPGs, and use the flash when the camera decides. The P mode allows exposure compensation, shooting in RAW, and selecting when the flash fires. The manual for your new camera can be found here.

If you liked the D70 so much, then why did you get the Canon? I've shot both Nikon and Canon, and chose Canon because the Nikon ergonomics didn't make sense to me. Were you to look online, you'd find that most people would actually disagree with me on that.