PDA

View Full Version : Anything besides MS Office?

seattlemaclover
Feb 27, 2004, 01:17 PM
I am a college student in seattle, and I am trying to decide weather or not to by MS Office with my 12" iBook G4. I know that the iBooks come with Appleworks, but is that enough? Should I get Office, or maybe just add Keynote ( I do a lot of presentations). HELP!!!!:confused:

wordmunger
Feb 27, 2004, 01:24 PM
Keynote is a great program--will work even better than PowerPoint for all your presentations.

You might also try the (free) Openoffice.org. It runs in the X11 environment, so it isn't as polished as a lot of other Mac software, but for basic word processing/spreadsheet stuff, it works fine--and you can save and read files in MS Office format.

That might be the way to go in the short term. If you find you can't live without Office, you could always get it later.

SilentPanda
Feb 27, 2004, 01:56 PM
I'd say get KeyNote if you do a lot of presentations and use OpenOffice for everything else.

I think OpenOffice can do presentations but I tend to not run X11 in full screen mode. So since OpenOffice is running in a "window" when you do your presentation it only shows up in the window. So then you have to switch it to full screen. And for some reason I seem to recall not liking that. I'd say get KeyNote and/or try OpenOffice. If you don't like OpenOffice you can always buy MS Office.

telecomm
Feb 27, 2004, 03:14 PM
If you're going to get Office, check your school's computer store, you should be able to find a student version of Office for much cheaper than the student version purchased elsewhere. I got my copy of Office X for 160 CND (including taxes), which works out to about 120 US.

Savage Henry
Feb 27, 2004, 03:27 PM
Originally posted by SilentPanda
I'd say get KeyNote if you do a lot of presentations and use OpenOffice for everything else.