PDA

View Full Version : Avatars - How to change/upload?


edesignuk
Feb 29, 2004, 01:54 PM
I noticed Rower had a larger 'tar (more than my 50x50px 'tar), I have deleted my 50x50 tar but cannot see how to upload a new one, any help?

Also, what's the new restriction on avatar sizes?

Thanks.

Rower_CPU
Feb 29, 2004, 01:58 PM
I noticed Rower had a larger 'tar (more than my 50x50px 'tar), I have deleted my 50x50 tar but cannot see how to upload a new one, any help?

Also, what's the new restriction on avatar sizes?

Thanks.

Open your User CP. On the left you'll see a list of options and settings. Select edit avatar and then upload a new one under the custom avatar section.

The new limit is listed at the bottom of that page: 75x75, 39K.

edesignuk
Feb 29, 2004, 02:01 PM
There's no option for it Rower...

edesignuk
Feb 29, 2004, 02:22 PM
HELP! I feel naked without my avatar :eek:

arn
Feb 29, 2004, 02:25 PM
HELP! I feel naked without my avatar :eek:

should work for you now. but only the smaller avatar at the moment.

arn

MacBandit
Feb 29, 2004, 02:25 PM
There appears to be a forum problem with Avatars at the moment. I get the same thing. It only listed the option to delete my Avatar so I did hoping it would then give an option to upload a new one but it didn't. Now I'm stuck with no Avatar for the time being.

Rower_CPU
Feb 29, 2004, 02:26 PM
There's no option for it Rower...

Weird...methinks arn has some more tweaking to do. ;)

edit - OK, arn has spoken. :)

MacBandit
Feb 29, 2004, 02:30 PM
It works for me now at 100x100 no less. :D

arn
Feb 29, 2004, 02:35 PM
It works for me now at 100x100 no less. :D

sorry... deleted your avatar. ;)

new dimension limit is now 75x75

MacBandit
Feb 29, 2004, 02:42 PM
sorry... deleted your avatar. ;)

new dimension limit is now 75x75

You bastard. Nah just kidding. Thanks for the letting me know.

edesignuk
Feb 29, 2004, 02:54 PM
should work for you now. but only the smaller avatar at the moment.

arn
ah hah! That's the trick! All better now :cool: Thanks :)

edit: it's amazing the difference 25px makes, these look so much better.

Sun Baked
Feb 29, 2004, 02:54 PM
Darn, Now I have to hunt down all the original pictures again.

But at least I can have both Count Blah as the tar, and the beatdown picture welcoming anybody that clicks on my tar (profile picture). ;)

Doctor Q
Feb 29, 2004, 03:22 PM
I'm inclined to keep a smaller size avatar but let it have more colors. With a 39K limit (why such an odd number?), it should look a lot better.

MacBandit
Feb 29, 2004, 03:35 PM
I'm inclined to keep a smaller size avatar but let it have more colors. With a 39K limit (why such an odd number?), it should look a lot better.

Too make you ask questions why else?

virividox
Feb 29, 2004, 04:21 PM
all right here goes on my updated tar

MrMacMan
Feb 29, 2004, 04:57 PM
Such a new setup...

and the server seems to be getting a lot of 'server busy' messages...


My tar is now gonna be really small...

Gah... Since when you increase the size of my tar the quality looks like garbage...

Sun Baked
Feb 29, 2004, 05:20 PM
My tar is now gonna be really small...Just use a really big profile image. ;)

Profile Image -- The maximum size of your custom image is 100 by 100 pixels or 97.7 KB

So when they click on your tar to see more about you...

Testing link to Profile Image.

http://forums.macrumors.com/image.php?u=5073&type=profile

machem
Mar 1, 2004, 01:45 PM
I have no option to post an avatar; is this still being worked on?

Thanks.

Rower_CPU
Mar 1, 2004, 02:15 PM
I have no option to post an avatar; is this still being worked on?

Thanks.

Members can only upload avatars after 500 posts.

jxyama
Mar 1, 2004, 03:05 PM
he he, i thought we had a ton of people with small AOL guy as 'tar...

it's just to IM the poster.

wPod
Mar 2, 2004, 09:18 AM
Members can only upload avatars after 500 posts.

500 seems like a lot. . .but i guess you have to make sure people are serious before you let them have an avtar. . . is there a way to check how many posts i have? (i know not enough for an avtar)

russed
Mar 2, 2004, 09:55 AM
well this post gets me one closer to having to decide what to have as my avatar!

Rower_CPU
Mar 2, 2004, 12:26 PM
500 seems like a lot. . .but i guess you have to make sure people are serious before you let them have an avtar. . . is there a way to check how many posts i have? (i know not enough for an avtar)

Your can check your post total in your public profile. The link from yours is:
http://forums.macrumors.com/member.php?userid=20478

You can see people's profile by clicking on their avatar or their name above it and selecting view public profile from the dropdown list.

jxyama
Mar 2, 2004, 01:46 PM
500 seems like a lot. . .but i guess you have to make sure people are serious before you let them have an avtar. . . is there a way to check how many posts i have? (i know not enough for an avtar)

500 posts go by quicker than you might think. just be a good member of the community, post thoughtful ideas and opinions... and you learn a lot about various things on the way too.

wPod
Mar 2, 2004, 02:04 PM
Thanks Rower_CPU on how to check my posts. . . 76 and growing!!!


500 posts go by quicker than you might think. just be a good member of the community, post thoughtful ideas and opinions... and you learn a lot about various things on the way too.

im just now learning about the numerous places of discusion aside from the main page, which is helping a lot. . . and also a lot of fun to talk to/hear from other people.

russed
Mar 2, 2004, 02:15 PM
how many post do you need to make it say "macrumours regular" by your name as opposed to just being "macrumours member"?

oh 1 post closer now! :D

rdowns
Mar 7, 2004, 06:22 AM
how many post do you need to make it say "macrumours regular" by your name as opposed to just being "macrumours member"?

oh 1 post closer now! :D


Newbie = 0 - 29 posts
Member => 30 posts
Regular => 100 posts
6502 => 500 posts
65816 => 1000 posts
65832 => 1500 posts
68000 => 1505 posts
68010 => 2000 posts
68020 => 2005 posts
68030 => 2500 posts
etc....

Powerbook G5
Mar 7, 2004, 11:21 AM
I thought I was seeing things before when I noticed avatars could be 100x100 and then today I decided to make a nice 100x100 and get a message that it had to be 75x75.

Grimace
Mar 7, 2004, 01:00 PM
Newbie = 0 - 29 posts
Member => 30 posts
Regular => 100 posts
6502 => 500 posts
65816 => 1000 posts
65832 => 1500 posts
68000 => 1505 posts
68010 => 2000 posts
68020 => 2005 posts
68030 => 2500 posts
etc....

Maybe this is a typo, but why is there only a 5 post difference between 65832 and 68000??

And what is the significance of the arbitrary numbers? I feel like I should know this one....

Doctor Q
Mar 7, 2004, 01:43 PM
It might simply be arbitrary cutoffs chosen by arn, but there's a theory that the time you spend at a particular processor level is related to how long that processor was used by Apple. Maybe somebody will volunteer to check this theory against the facts.

MacBandit
Mar 7, 2004, 04:54 PM
I thought I was seeing things before when I noticed avatars could be 100x100 and then today I decided to make a nice 100x100 and get a message that it had to be 75x75.

Yea I made that mention. The 100x100 tar lasted for all of about 30 minutes. It was suppose to be 75x75 from the beginning of this update but there was a problem that Arn fixed and when he did something happened and we were allowed 100x100 for a very short while until he fixed the fix.

Powerbook G5
Mar 7, 2004, 08:42 PM
So much for the grandfather clause. :p

Doctor Q
Mar 7, 2004, 08:45 PM
This ain't your grandfather's version of vBulletin either.

blue&whiteman
Mar 26, 2004, 10:23 AM
I am at 500 posts after almost 4 months of use. I cannot add an avatar though. there is no option to upload. what do I need to do?

szark
Mar 26, 2004, 10:48 AM
I am at 500 posts after almost 4 months of use. I cannot add an avatar though. there is no option to upload. what do I need to do?

Try logging out and logging back in -- maybe that will help the panel recognize the change in your status.

blue&whiteman
Mar 26, 2004, 12:01 PM
Try logging out and logging back in -- maybe that will help the panel recognize the change in your status.

worked perfectly. thanks for the tip. :)

blue&whiteman
Mar 26, 2004, 12:40 PM
one thing I have noticed since I passed 500 posts is that my signature has a buch of empty space below it. can I get rid of that?

just realized its because of the avatar taking up more room

MacNut
Mar 26, 2004, 03:57 PM
Newbie = 0 - 29 posts
Member => 30 posts
Regular => 100 posts
6502 => 500 posts
65816 => 1000 posts
65832 => 1500 posts
68000 => 1505 posts
68010 => 2000 posts
68020 => 2005 posts
68030 => 2500 posts
etc....

Good ole 68030 my very first computer processor, To bad the computer barely works now without crashing repeatedly.

wowser
Mar 28, 2004, 04:17 PM
how the hell can i upload an avatar? i just get a screen like the one at the top. a box saying 'no avatar selected' and a svae changes and reset button. help please!

Doctor Q
Mar 28, 2004, 05:10 PM
Uploading an avatar won't work until you've made at least 500 posts. Those are the forum rules. The avatars let people recognize members who have been here a while.

wowser
Mar 28, 2004, 05:31 PM
ah - that figures , thanks

deriko100
Oct 12, 2008, 06:20 PM
Newbie = 0 - 29 posts
Member => 30 posts
Regular => 100 posts
6502 => 500 posts
65816 => 1000 posts
65832 => 1500 posts
68000 => 1505 posts
68010 => 2000 posts
68020 => 2005 posts
68030 => 2500 posts
etc....

thanks for the guide line was wondering and thats alot of posts, what if your a demi will the 68030 still show?

rdowns
Oct 12, 2008, 06:22 PM
thanks for the guide line was wondering and thats alot of posts, what if your a demi will the 68030 still show?

If you choose to keep the Demi-God title, you will not have a processor ranking. You can ask to have the DG removed and the processor rank displayed if you wish. PM an admin or god.

iJohnHenry
Oct 12, 2008, 06:25 PM
6502a => 250 posts :p

MacDawg
Oct 12, 2008, 06:25 PM
thanks for the guide line was wondering and thats alot of posts, what if your a demi will the 68030 still show?

Wow... good job searching and digging up an old thread for an answer! :)

Woof, Woof - Dawg http://homepage.mac.com/k.j.vinson/pawprint.gif

alphaod
Oct 12, 2008, 09:20 PM
If you choose to keep the Demi-God title, you will not have a processor ranking. You can ask to have the DG removed and the processor rank displayed if you wish. PM an admin or god.

If you do that; you will not get an ad-free front page.