PDA

View Full Version : G4 powerbook failure--At start up the apple appears on the screen with the hour glass




jasonsowers
Dec 29, 2008, 02:46 PM
This is my first post so disrgard me being a noob. I have had a few macs. I have a g4 1.5 powerbook that I use everyday.

Today I went to turn it on and all I am getting on the start up is the Apple symbol and the hourglass circle that just keeps spinning.

I am pretty sure the hard disc is the problem. Bc, I can't hear it spinning.

Any ideas? Thanks for the help in advance.

Regards,

Jason



BlueRevolution
Dec 29, 2008, 02:58 PM
Are you able to boot to the DVD that came with your computer? (Or the Mac OS X DVD if you've upgraded since you bought the computer.)

jasonsowers
Dec 29, 2008, 03:01 PM
Are you able to boot to the DVD that came with your computer? (Or the Mac OS X DVD if you've upgraded since you bought the computer.)

I have the disc. I have put the os x install disc in but i dont remember how to get it started. Do you have to hit one of the function keys during the start up?

I am mostly concerned about the 60 plus gigs of my music that I think might be gone.

Thanks for your help.

BlueRevolution
Dec 29, 2008, 03:14 PM
There are a couple of ways to boot from the DVD, but I suggest holding the option key until you get a menu of drives/partitions to boot from. Since you have a slot-loading drive, if you haven't been able to insert the disk, you can do so now and it should appear in the menu after a few seconds. Select it and hit return to boot from the disk.

jasonsowers
Dec 29, 2008, 06:31 PM
There are a couple of ways to boot from the DVD, but I suggest holding the option key until you get a menu of drives/partitions to boot from. Since you have a slot-loading drive, if you haven't been able to insert the disk, you can do so now and it should appear in the menu after a few seconds. Select it and hit return to boot from the disk.

Is there anyway to salvage my music collection. I really am not concerned about the powerbook. Mostly my music collection is my pride and joy.

BlueRevolution
Dec 29, 2008, 06:38 PM
There may be, yes. It just depends what is wrong with your computer. Have you tried what I suggested?

jasonsowers
Dec 29, 2008, 06:50 PM
There may be, yes. It just depends what is wrong with your computer. Have you tried what I suggested?

Yes, I did do what you have suggested. I came up with an error code.

2 Mem/104/4: sod1mm1/j25upper

It say memory (which I am thinking is my ram)

Mass storage has passed.

So I am thinking my hard disc is fine.

I am going to take out my ram and reboot the system.

Am I headed in the correct direction?

Thanks!

BlueRevolution
Dec 29, 2008, 06:54 PM
Well, aside from the fact that it won't start at all with no memory in it. ;) You could try removing and re-inserting the memory to ensure that it's not loose or anything.

Yes, that's the way I interpret the message as well. Your music should be safe, although for the time being it is inaccessible without physically removing the drive. There are a few things left to try before we go down that road, though.

jasonsowers
Dec 29, 2008, 07:14 PM
Well, aside from the fact that it won't start at all with no memory in it. ;) You could try removing and re-inserting the memory to ensure that it's not loose or anything.

Yes, that's the way I interpret the message as well. Your music should be safe, although for the time being it is inaccessible without physically removing the drive. There are a few things left to try before we go down that road, though.

I am doing the extended test now about a half hour it is calling for.

I took out the memory and it is still the same only no errors and everything has passed. But that was with the quick test.

So with no added ram chip in it is still showing the apple with the circling hour glass.

Thanks for helping me out you don't know how much i appreciate this.

BlueRevolution
Dec 29, 2008, 07:19 PM
Well, that it will boot to hardware test is a good sign. You're running it with the memory in, yeah? That should show up any problems in the memory if that's where the issues lie.

jasonsowers
Dec 29, 2008, 07:31 PM
Well, that it will boot to hardware test is a good sign. You're running it with the memory in, yeah? That should show up any problems in the memory if that's where the issues lie.

I took out the EXTRA RAM. Now I am running it with just the built in RAM. Or is that the only ram that it has is the removable ram?

jasonsowers
Dec 29, 2008, 07:33 PM
I just got done. Everything passed. I am loading it right now with my fingers crossed. So I am thinking the removal RAM is what is the problem.

HOPEFULLY!

jasonsowers
Dec 29, 2008, 07:40 PM
Samething. Apple screen with spinning hourglass.

Anymore suggestions?

toolbox
Dec 29, 2008, 08:10 PM
Can you boot of your OS X cd and run diskutility?

BlueRevolution
Dec 29, 2008, 08:22 PM
Have you run hardware test again with the memory re-inserted?

For the record, you will also need the stick of memory in order to boot to the Mac OS X DVD.

jasonsowers
Dec 29, 2008, 08:38 PM
Can you boot of your OS X cd and run diskutility?

I am trying it right now with the stick of ram installed.

jasonsowers
Dec 29, 2008, 08:39 PM
Have you run hardware test again with the memory re-inserted?

For the record, you will also need the stick of memory in order to boot to the Mac OS X DVD.

So I have to have the stick of RAM installed in order for my notebook to work? I thought it had built in ram?

toolbox
Dec 29, 2008, 08:40 PM
Same laptops had built in ram it's a physical part of the motherboard, i no my powerbook does.

jasonsowers
Dec 29, 2008, 08:57 PM
Same laptops had built in ram it's a physical part of the motherboard, i no my powerbook does.

I am pretty sure my powerbook has a built in 512.

How do i get os x dvd to open duuring start up?

jasonsowers
Dec 29, 2008, 09:08 PM
I just realized I had 2 sticks of ram I removed the upper bc that is the one that had the error code and swapping them.

Fingers are crossed

toolbox
Dec 29, 2008, 09:11 PM
to boot of your CD press "C" when you turn the unit on.

jasonsowers
Dec 29, 2008, 09:21 PM
to boot of your CD press "C" when you turn the unit on.

What do I do once I am in disc utility?

BTW swapping the ram sticks did not work.

toolbox
Dec 29, 2008, 09:23 PM
When your in disk utility you need to click on the hdd and then run verify disk. If it finds anything you need to press repair disk.

Any errors it finds will be in red. Also once that is done verify and repair the permissions too.

jasonsowers
Dec 29, 2008, 09:47 PM
When your in disk utility you need to click on the hdd and then run verify disk. If it finds anything you need to press repair disk.

Any errors it finds will be in red. Also once that is done verify and repair the permissions too.

will this lead to loss in my media (my music)?

I am doing it right now.

toolbox
Dec 29, 2008, 10:03 PM
Don't believe that it will. But anything can happen with technology it pays to have backups

jasonsowers
Dec 29, 2008, 10:12 PM
Don't believe that it will. But anything can happen with technology it pays to have backups

I deleted evreything on my external a few nights ago to back update everything i needed backed up. So this is like a 2 day window that this happened in. So. I lost everthing from trying to clean up some unneseccary files.

Here are my errors

Volume bit needs minor repair
Volume header needs minor repair
The volume Macintosh HD could nott be repaired

Error: The underlying task reported failure on exit.

toolbox
Dec 29, 2008, 10:20 PM
Thats not good, have a read of this

http://support.apple.com/kb/TS1901?viewlocale=en_US

Hope fully this will help

jasonsowers
Dec 29, 2008, 10:58 PM
Thats not good, have a read of this

http://support.apple.com/kb/TS1901?viewlocale=en_US

Hope fully this will help

So it sounds like I cant back anything up?

How can I get my media off of this hard disc.

Thanks for hanging in there with me on this.

I would take you out for drinks for sure if you were in my area.

Thanks for your time.

toolbox
Dec 29, 2008, 11:13 PM
Do you have another mac in the house? You can get the hdd out of that unit and mount it in a caddy. Plug the caddy into another mac and drop and drag things off.

The powerbooks from memory require the top casing to be removed in order for the drive ot be removed. If you not sure might be worth taking it to a apple store and getting on the techs to have a look.

jasonsowers
Dec 29, 2008, 11:58 PM
Do you have another mac in the house? You can get the hdd out of that unit and mount it in a caddy. Plug the caddy into another mac and drop and drag things off.

The powerbooks from memory require the top casing to be removed in order for the drive ot be removed. If you not sure might be worth taking it to a apple store and getting on the techs to have a look.

Thanks for all the help. I will take it to apple and see if they can get all the media off of it on to my external. What a day.

toolbox
Dec 30, 2008, 12:02 AM
Yep, that sort of stuff can be very stressful. I have fix peoples computers for a living and when there is a data involved it can be frustrating when trying to retrieve it

jasonsowers
Dec 30, 2008, 02:10 PM
Fixed the problem. Well, not really. I picked up a white MacBook with a 13.3" screen, 2.2 GHz Core 2 Duo processor, 1 GB RAM and 80GB hard drive this morning on Ebay.

I am going to try to hook it up to the fire wire and see if i can salvage anything.

Thanks everyone for your help.