PDA

View Full Version : Plz help me decide,....




shootingstar64
Dec 30, 2008, 09:52 AM
.... i do own a hassle free mba rev b (ssd model) and also a first gen 20" iMac (aluminium) which i would like to replace.

I am considering getting an 24" iMac or just keep the mba as my only computer and go for the brand new 24" led cinema display?

As i have a MacPro/30" Cinema Display combo in the office i do not really need the extra horsepower an iMac would provide. Also it would be easier to only have 2 Macs to maintain,... i know that sounds lazy ;-)

What would you do?



leez
Dec 30, 2008, 10:04 AM
.... i do own a hassle free mba rev b (ssd model) and also a first gen 20" iMac (aluminium) which i would like to replace.

I am considering getting an 24" iMac or just keep the mba as my only computer and go for the brand new 24" led cinema display?

As i have a MacPro/30" Cinema Display combo in the office i do not really need the extra horsepower an iMac would provide. Also it would be easier to only have 2 Macs to maintain,... i know that sounds lazy ;-)

What would you do?

Hmm...give me one of them, I would say "Thank you", you and me are happy :).

glitch44
Dec 30, 2008, 10:17 AM
with rumors of new Imacs in January, I'd definitely wait and see.

justit
Dec 30, 2008, 10:37 AM
Sounds like you already have a great set-up. Use screen sharing to the office if u need the horsepower. Owning one mac is not lazy it's practical. Sell the iMac and get the display.

Tallest Skil
Dec 30, 2008, 10:39 AM
Get the display if you really want it. There will be a new 30" display at MacWorld, though. It won't work with your Mac Pro, but it will work with the MacBook Air.

GoCubsGo
Dec 30, 2008, 10:41 AM
.... i do own a hassle free mba rev b (ssd model) and also a first gen 20" iMac (aluminium) which i would like to replace.

I am considering getting an 24" iMac or just keep the mba as my only computer and go for the brand new 24" led cinema display?

As i have a MacPro/30" Cinema Display combo in the office i do not really need the extra horsepower an iMac would provide. Also it would be easier to only have 2 Macs to maintain,... i know that sounds lazy ;-)

What would you do?

If you can use your MacPro for the heavy lifting whenever you want (not just during business hours) then I would sell that iMac and keep the MB Air @ home. I have both myself and found it to be the perfect combination.

n0de
Dec 30, 2008, 10:42 AM
The MBA + a 22 inch display is all I use and mine is a Rev A!

I am very happy with it and now only use my desktop to stream iTunes.

shootingstar64
Dec 31, 2008, 08:08 AM
The MBA + a 22 inch display is all I use and mine is a Rev A!

I am very happy with it and now only use my desktop to stream iTunes.


This is exactely how i do it right now,.... i have 1TB of media connected to the imac (most audio, photos and movies) and stream this to the ATV in the living room.

Another idea i came up last night, was to get rid of the iMac (really nice CPU but honestly not need it) and get the 24" display for the MBA and buy a Mac Mini and use it sorely for as a media server? Then i would not connect a display to the Mini and for administration i can go Screen Sharing or Remote Desktop,... how´s about that?

Maybe someone can give a hint on this one:

I do have the Bose Companion 5 Multimedia Speaker System attached to the iMac right now,... will it work through the 24" LED Cinema Display´s USB Hub Ports? Anybody use this setup? On the iMac the Companion 5 has to be plugged in the iMac direct USB Ports,... a Hub did not work,... i have tried this and read about the problem in several other forums.

Thanx

shootingstar64
Jan 4, 2009, 04:53 PM
.... and got the LED Cinema Display for my new MBA!!!

All i can say that i am very pleased with my purchase, it is a gorgeous screen and looks beautifully on my desk. I have also purchased a nice little Iomega Hard Drive (eGo Helium) which blends perfectly with the Air,.... it only came in 320GB but this is enough for me for the time being. My library holds approximately about 200GB of Media Files (Photos, MP3 and Movies) and since i got a PS3 for Xmas (love my wife :D) i am more into BluRay right now and will not rip DVDs anymore. Next to the Helium HD rests the MBA SuperDrive and the last free USB Port on the LED Cinema Diplay goes to,... dadada: my brand-new Bose Companion 5 Multimedia Speaker System! (it´s AWESOME, you have to hear to believe!!!)

BTW,... i gave my old "Warhorse" the 20" iMac to my brother,... so he´s a "Switcher" now,.... :cool::D:cool::D:)

gotzero
Jan 4, 2009, 05:02 PM
I am also using the MP/MBA combo, and I find them to be a fine pair.

To be honest, I have stopped using external displays with the MBA since the windows always get goofed up when you connect a larger monitor and then move to a smaller one. I guess the difference for me is that the MP is at home, the MBA is mobile, and the work computers are completely different machines that I do not integrate to the Macs. I even have different phones...

There are very few daily tasks that I feel like the MBA cannot accomplish. I have a Mini at home also that was meant for backup for the MBA, which I have not even plugged in in months because it is not necessary. I wish the battery life was better, but what can you do? Enjoy the new display, I think you made the right choice.