Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

vellalar

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jan 2, 2009
Dear Frenz,

I'm a newbie, using Canon 450D with 18-55mm lens. I've started to learn shooting with this lens and now i need some expertise advice on which sort of lenses would suit a wildlife/bird photography. I need some kind of a idea about the prices of the lenses too. I prefer to stick to Canon lenses.

Cheers!

wheelhot

macrumors 68020
Nov 23, 2007
hmm, well what is your budget and how far are you intended to be away from the subject?

As usual Canon 70-200L is the best zoom lens.

compuwar

macrumors 601
Oct 5, 2006
Northern/Central VA
Dear Frenz,

I'm a newbie, using Canon 450D with 18-55mm lens. I've started to learn shooting with this lens and now i need some expertise advice on which sort of lenses would suit a wildlife/bird photography. I need some kind of a idea about the prices of the lenses too. I prefer to stick to Canon lenses.

Cheers!

Bird photography is about as expensive as photography gets lens-wise. If you don't have the multiple thousands of dollars a good birding lens costs, then frankly you're generally better off with 3rd party lenses most of the time. The 100-400mm Canon isn't too bad though, or the 400mm f/5.6, which is likely a better choice though it lacks IS- around $1100 each I think. You're also going to need to budget for a good tripod and head- even with IS on the lens having a tripod helps tremendously in not moving much as you're tracking birds from light woods or the edges of water ($350-650 depending.)

The above lenses are relatively slow, as are the third party alternatives (Sigma makes some n-500mm lenses for a little less,) but in most areas you can do ok with them.