PDA

View Full Version : UK Interest rates cut to 1.5%

arkitect
Jan 8, 2009, 06:30 AM
Lowest in 315 years… sigh… where do we go from here? Actually, no need to answer. :o

The Bank of England has cut interest rates to 1.5%, the lowest level in its 315-year history, as it continues efforts to aid an economic recovery.

The half percentage point reduction brings interest rates below 2% for the first time since the Bank of England was founded in 1694.

Manufacturers' association EEF said the move was "too timid", and that the Bank should have cut rates further.

The Bank has now reduced rates four times from October's 5% level.

http://newsimg.bbc.co.uk/media/images/45356000/jpg/_45356188_boe_jan09_gr226_15pc.jpg

Link (http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/business/7817453.stm)…

SpaceMagic
Jan 8, 2009, 07:23 AM
It's insane. 1.5%. Great for Home buyers but what about Savers! What about Pensions?

As a student I'm waiting for the Government to cut my mortgage with them...

Queso
Jan 8, 2009, 07:28 AM
It's insane. 1.5%. Great for Home buyers but what about Savers! What about Pensions?
Pensioners are basically knackered. AFAIC this is a cut too far. Borrowers will not get any benefit from the banks as the rate is now lower than the floor rate in most mortgage contracts. At the same time savers have seen the interest they receive cut by around 70% since September.

There comes a point where rate cuts just take money out of the economy. I think we passed that last month.

SpaceMagic
Jan 8, 2009, 07:40 AM
I constantly get the impression the Government is looking for short term fixes. Or rather, shock factors which will make people happy but will probably hurt in the long run.

As there's very little to invest in at the moment, this rate cut is probably for the big banks so they don't have to pay out so much to investors/savers.