PDA

View Full Version : Europe says Microsoft must open Windows


MacBytes
Mar 6, 2004, 09:31 AM
Link: Europe says Microsoft must open Windows (http://www.macbytes.com/link.php?sid=20040306103146)

Posted on MacBytes.com

druggedonions
Mar 7, 2004, 06:21 AM
A European consumer plugs in and starts up their new version of Windows XP or Longinthetooth® and after setting it up for the internet and configuring the firewall, signing up for Passport, MSN News, MSN Search Engine™ and Hotmail. It pops up a window saying...

'There is software available for download from Microsofts Servers. You must download the latest copy of Windows Media Player or your computer will cease to function. Where do you want to go now?'

Will authorities learn that Microsoft are just going to find another way round the latest restriction placed on their software.

It's the only innovative thing Microsoft will ever be able to pull off.

Photorun
Mar 7, 2004, 05:39 PM
Hahh Hahhhh

Fiveos22
Mar 7, 2004, 05:57 PM
Quote from article:

"In a game of legal hardball, Microsoft has said it will appeal against whatever reparations Europe may demand from the company."

Wow, Microsoft versus Europe, and Microsoft says they're going to win. When is their hubris going to get the better of them?

AngryLawnGnome
Mar 7, 2004, 06:00 PM
Bill Gates is a mess.

zamyatin
Mar 7, 2004, 08:48 PM
So, the US government behaves as if corporations are its citizens, and humans ought to serve the interests of powerful corporations. Europe behaves as if humans are its citizens, and corporations ought to serve the interests of humans.

Naimfan
Mar 7, 2004, 09:14 PM
Zam--

That's very well put!

And I almost agree with it completely.

Not to be pedantic, but the EU has not yet issued that order. The Macworld article says that in the first paragraph. Being interested in antitrust law, I've been following this closely. Should make life for Microsoft that much harder...

Best,

Bob

Bigheadache
Mar 7, 2004, 11:06 PM
I agree with Druggedonions, they'll just include it via Windows Update and it will prompt you the first time you click on any media file.

BTW you definitely do NOT want RealOne preinstalled on your system as was suggested by the EU. RealOne has more intrusive spyware than anything Microsoft makes. (and thats saying alot)

grobbins
Mar 8, 2004, 01:30 PM
BTW you definitely do NOT want RealOne preinstalled on your system as was suggested by the EU. RealOne has more intrusive spyware than anything Microsoft makes. (and thats saying alot)

Actually, there is no spyware in RealOne Player. It does not do anything inappropriate with personal data.